Pumpkin Bavarian Cream Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a tasty pie. Don't worry about getting the whipped cream completely worked in. Its nice to get a little bit of it in with the pie. Makes a ton of filling. I fill up a deep dish pie shell and still had about a cup of extra filling. I just put it in a bowl. Still yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Wow! Really wonderful recipe! It's a perfect Bavarian cream, with a light, mousse-like texture (not like the gluey filling in "Bavarian cream" doughnuts). I didn't have any scotch, so I used the last of my brandy—about 1 Tbsp. I also beat the egg yolks and sugar with my Kitchenaid, rather than on the stove, and then mixed in the pumpkin mixture before transferring it to a pan. This would be a great recipe if you're asked to bring a dessert for Thanksgiving; it might be hard to make if you're the one hosting the meal, since it has to chill in the fridge, and refrigerator space is usually at a premium. I can't wait to try this pumpkin filling in something else, say, a pumpkin layer cake with a cranberry glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I replaced the light cream and the milk with reduced-fat buttermilk. I am still amazed by how fast this was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a show stopper at Thanksgiving. All the lovely pumpkin flavor with a nice, light texture. 2 notes: (1) I had a lot of leftover filling. I wish I had extra crust and could have made some small tarts or something. (2) Be careful not to overwhip the heavy cream. I did, it still tasted great, it was just hard to fold in the filling. I would recommend whipping to soft peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Just made this for the first time tonight for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Taste is fabulous, was easy to make as well. Just one note, this makes at least two normal sized pies. I made 12 mini tarts & had more than enough left over to make another pie. Note to self, next time make gingerbread the day before and use leftover filling to makes trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! It is time consuming to make but the light, spicy and slightly sweet flavor fully makes up for it. I have one tip: The recipe calls for 1 cup of heavy cream, but I got a larger container so I could just whip a bunch of cream and have fresh whipped cream to top the pie with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used 2 eggs instead of 4 yolks. I thought it would firm up, but instead I needed to freeze it to get a decent slice. Next time, I will use 2 env. gelatin! Great taste, just a little disappointed with texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T, opting to stick to the one packet of gelatin. It was certainly soft -- a bit custard-like -- but solidified enough that I was able to slice it up 16 ways handily. This is my first try at "Bavarian cream" so I'm not sure what I was aiming for, but I was nervous that another packet of gelatin would make it too Jello-jiggly. When I asked my husband whether I should pop it in the freezer he told me "no" ... both times I asked. He liked the texture. At any rate, the pie was a huge hit at the office Christmas party, even after an enormous buffet lunch, and the only thing eaten in its entirety! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This came out tasting good, but not as firm as I was expecting/hoping. It's still a bit on the flowing side when served. It took more like an hour and a half to begin to firm up in the fridge, not 20 minutes. I thought I had it hot enough to begin with, but I'm thinking it needed a bit more cooking time. Should it begin to thicken a bit on the stove? I'd think so ... and it really didn't. I may try it again, but I really haven't made up my mind yet. If I do, I think maybe I'll use at least one whole egg rather than all yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Delicious! My first try was a little loose. Second time, I tempered the eggs into the pumpkin mixture, added the gelatin, and brought the whole thing back up to a low boil. This activated the gelatin and protein in the eggs giving a much more stable custard. And be sure to whip the cream to stiff peaks before folding in. I've also layered the pumpkin with Frangelico (or hazelnut favored) whipped cream in parfait glasses. Sprinkle with chopped toasted hazelnuts. A HUGE hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States