Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Everyone seemed to be a little disappointed about how "cake-like" this recipe turned out, so I made a few adjustments: I used 3 eggs instead of 4, brown sugar instead of white, 1/2 tsp of baking soda instead of 1 tsp, and added a few shakes of ground cloves and nutmeg (I couldn't resist!!). I baked for 28 mins in a 9x13 pan. They are just now cooling on my counter and I took a smidgen from the corner - VERY moist, dense, and SOOOO tasty. I can't WAIT to put the cream cheese icing on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Mine turned out great!! Used applesauce instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
They are kind of cake-like, but I didn't think of that as a bad thing. I thought these bars had the perfect balance of pumpkin, spices, and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
YUM! I also made some modifications to lower the glycemic value of this recipe. I did 1/2 of the amount of sugar with brown, and 1/2 white- next time I might try substituting some honey. I used applesauce in place of the oil, and whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose. To make them more like "bars" instead of cake I used only 1 tsp. baking powder and 3 eggs. They turned out so well and are delicioius! This will be my new substitute for the time-consuming pumpkin log I usually make around the holidays. I might even add some walnuts on top of the icing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These were great! Everyone that tried them loved them. Just be sure to refrigerate them or, they'll get too soft. Brenda, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was fantastic! I do a ton of baking and have my family memebers each rate new recipes when I try them. This recipe was voted the very favorite by every single family member! Will definately be making this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
LOVE this recipe! I also added 1/8 tsp. of ground cloves and nutmeg.... it added a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Sauvageau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very easy, and I do not recommend the 9x13 pan. I used that size and the middle isn't done, but the outsides are... And the outsides taste really good! Next time I'll use the pan size recommended. There WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We all thought these were great. My 15yr. old son ate half the pan, and he usually is fussy. Love the frosting, might add a bit more frosting next time. We like frosting. Make them, you can't go wrong, and easy to make. Almost forgot, mine were done in 22min, good thing I looked early. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These were good. Be ready for something that resembles a cake though, with a yummy creamcheese frosting. The cake was not overly sweet, it was more of a spice flavor. Some people looooved these bars, and I thought they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States