Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
YUM! I also made some modifications to lower the glycemic value of this recipe. I did 1/2 of the amount of sugar with brown, and 1/2 white- next time I might try substituting some honey. I used applesauce in place of the oil, and whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose. To make them more like "bars" instead of cake I used only 1 tsp. baking powder and 3 eggs. They turned out so well and are delicioius! This will be my new substitute for the time-consuming pumpkin log I usually make around the holidays. I might even add some walnuts on top of the icing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I have this same recipe which I posted on www.mixingbowl.com I have been making this for years and it's always been a huge hit with everyone I've made it for!! 5 stars all the way!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were excellent. They only reason I don't give a 5 star is because while the frosting was really good, I didn't think there was enough for the whole pan--it just make a very thin layer. I like LOTS of frosting. I ended up making another half batch of frosting. Next time I will just double the amount of frosting. But this recipe is really good--and EASY! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Excellent and easy!! I didn't change anything..they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe was so delicious and ever so moist! Although maybe it was too moist... Instead of bars, they just came out to be a cake, which I didn't mind, because everyone was craving it and every bite just melts in your mouth. I would make this pumpkin desert everyday if I had the ingredients right in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
excellent recipe! I ended up adding considerably more cinnamon and same ground ginger to it though as I don't care for frosting. It turned out to be a very moist delicious cake. The next time I make it I will cut the baking powder in half so that it will come out more bar-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
LOVE this recipe! I also added 1/8 tsp. of ground cloves and nutmeg.... it added a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Sauvageau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I have made these bars twice. Both times in a round angel food cake pan. The first time I was just using up some leftover pumpkin. With less pumpkin, these came out very moist and almost uncooked like, but delicious. The best way to put it, is that these were pumpkin pie without the crust. The second time I made them, they came out cake like. Varying the measurements helped create the different consistencies. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar, both times I made this. Overall a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Very easy, and I do not recommend the 9x13 pan. I used that size and the middle isn't done, but the outsides are... And the outsides taste really good! Next time I'll use the pan size recommended. There WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Super easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States