Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
5 stars with the following changes: Like other reviewers, I cut baking powder and soda in half, used only 3 eggs, only 1 cup of sugar, and increased pumpkin- I used 2 1/4 cup because that is how much puree I got from my sugar pumpkin. They are so yummy and moist! Still kind of cake like, but I love it! The frosting was perfect as is, IMO. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The only thing I changed was that I used fresh pumpkin. The whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaci Kulish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilworth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
These are very good. Very moist. Just the right amount of frosting. I would change nothing about the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Wow, these things are addictive like crack...not that I would know personally... I was going for a denser version, and after reading some of the other reviews decided to drop one of the eggs (3 total), but I left the baking powder & soda measurements alone. I also used pumpkin spice instead of just the ground cinnamon. My last tweak (pun not intended) was to substitute 2/3 cup of sugar with brown sugar. I do not own a pan in the dimensions on the recipe, so I used a 1/4 sheet pan and it was perfect. Also, I lined the pan with parchment paper, with a couple inches sticking out of both sides. That way, I could just lift it up out of the pan so that it could cool and then be frosted. It made cutting/serving very easy. The bars were remarkably moist and the exact density I wanted. I'm a fiend for the pumpkin bars at a local bakery, but I actually liked these better! I will definitely be making these again, but perhaps I'll double the recipe and use my 1/2 sheet pan instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made my usual subsitutions (ground flax seed for eggs-but for 3 eggs, not 4 as recipe states, all applesauce and no oil.) I also used less sugar, added fresh grated nutmeg, and some cloves. I made my own frosting recipe using 8 oz of 1/3 less fat cream cheese, I don't think the 3 oz package called for would have made enough frosting. This makes a lot of bars...enough to eat, give some away and freeze some! I COULD NOT STOP eating them, they are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My son made these for the a County Fair, He won a first place ribbon and Best in show!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taliesin
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Just one simple change - I made 24 cupcakes from this recipe instead of bars and baked them for 20 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliesin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I'm allergic to all cake mixes, and this is the first homemade cake recipe I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I just loved this recipe. My oven runs a little hot so I baked it for 25 mnutes instead of 30. Man they were perfect. AND after they cooled, they remained light and fluffy, but moist and delicious as well. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose but that is just cause I am a health nut. They are still great. Thanks for a winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Perfect pumpkin bars! Moist, not too sweet, and easy to make. I will make theses again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking5344

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States