Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
5 stars with the following changes: Like other reviewers, I cut baking powder and soda in half, used only 3 eggs, only 1 cup of sugar, and increased pumpkin- I used 2 1/4 cup because that is how much puree I got from my sugar pumpkin. They are so yummy and moist! Still kind of cake like, but I love it! The frosting was perfect as is, IMO. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The only thing I changed was that I used fresh pumpkin. The whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaci Kulish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilworth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
These are very good. Very moist. Just the right amount of frosting. I would change nothing about the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Wow, these things are addictive like crack...not that I would know personally... I was going for a denser version, and after reading some of the other reviews decided to drop one of the eggs (3 total), but I left the baking powder & soda measurements alone. I also used pumpkin spice instead of just the ground cinnamon. My last tweak (pun not intended) was to substitute 2/3 cup of sugar with brown sugar. I do not own a pan in the dimensions on the recipe, so I used a 1/4 sheet pan and it was perfect. Also, I lined the pan with parchment paper, with a couple inches sticking out of both sides. That way, I could just lift it up out of the pan so that it could cool and then be frosted. It made cutting/serving very easy. The bars were remarkably moist and the exact density I wanted. I'm a fiend for the pumpkin bars at a local bakery, but I actually liked these better! I will definitely be making these again, but perhaps I'll double the recipe and use my 1/2 sheet pan instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made my usual subsitutions (ground flax seed for eggs-but for 3 eggs, not 4 as recipe states, all applesauce and no oil.) I also used less sugar, added fresh grated nutmeg, and some cloves. I made my own frosting recipe using 8 oz of 1/3 less fat cream cheese, I don't think the 3 oz package called for would have made enough frosting. This makes a lot of bars...enough to eat, give some away and freeze some! I COULD NOT STOP eating them, they are soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
My son made these for the a County Fair, He won a first place ribbon and Best in show!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taliesin
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Just one simple change - I made 24 cupcakes from this recipe instead of bars and baked them for 20 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliesin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I'm allergic to all cake mixes, and this is the first homemade cake recipe I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I just loved this recipe. My oven runs a little hot so I baked it for 25 mnutes instead of 30. Man they were perfect. AND after they cooled, they remained light and fluffy, but moist and delicious as well. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose but that is just cause I am a health nut. They are still great. Thanks for a winning recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Perfect pumpkin bars! Moist, not too sweet, and easy to make. I will make theses again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking5344

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States