Pumpkin Bars V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
YUM!!! I made these to take to a family whose daughter is recovering from surgery. I'm not one who is afraid to try a new recipe on someone else! :) These were just what I was looking for...sweet, but not too sweet, dense, hearty. I made no changes other than using raw sugar (hate that white stuff!!). I lined the pan w/foil and they lifted right out...made it easy to cut for transporting. This one is definately a keeper. May try half white/half whole wheat flour next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
It took just a little longer than the recipe states to make them, but I think it will get easier as I keep making them. And I LOVE to surprise people by having chocolate in a pumpkin bar recipe. Tastes much better than it sounds! In the future, I will put some kind of icing on them. People are disappointed when you don't have the cream chese icing on pumpkin bars. Overall, though, it is a good recipe and something worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Really easy to make. These were really good, my husband and kids really liked them. Instead of chocolate chips, I used Craisins. I'd make them again, a good alternative for snack time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have to say, I was seriously doubting this recipe after I liked the batter after I mixed it all(choc chips included) and it was so bland I had wished I had left out the choc. chips and used cream cheese frosting.... Then I baked it for 35 min and oh my thank you for this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was awsome!! No need for frosting at all! And moist- you have no idea!! Keep it covered and it will stay that way. Excellent thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuraAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Made them exactly how the recipe is written. Topped them w/cream cheese icing and it was yummi'licious. My daughter (13) said it reminded her of banana nut bread and she was glad that the pumpkin did not dominate the taste. Soon after we tried them (kids and I) we took some to my husband at work and shared w/his fellow Marines and they loved it. Will definitely make these again. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Camp Foster, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
awesome! the nuts and chocolate chips are NOT optional in this recipe. It is what makes it so good. Cream cheese frosting would have ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
These are really good. I did however, make some adjustments. I added cloves to my recipe and left out the chocolate chips. I also used pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference) and instead of mixing nuts into batter I spread them on top to give it a toasted flavor. After baking I drizzled glaze icing on top. VERY, VERY GOOD. In my oven it didn't take as long to cook so watch carefully. I have made these twice now and everyone has loved them. Will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I've made these bars a few times now and top them with Cream Cheese Frosting II on this site. I brought these to a party and everyone laughed how heavy the pan was! They're so moist and the chocolate is a nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great snack cake! The only changes I made to this recipe was cutting back on the nuts by 1 cup. Otherwise I followed it to a t. No need for icing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe was fantasic. Though I will say it is more like a cake than a bar. I made it with a graham cracker crust and cream cheese icing. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States