Pumpkin Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Very moist and flavorful. I substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil to lessen fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Loved it! Made a few modifications: used fresh pumpkin, cut the sugar in half, and used whole wheat flour. Turned out more like cake than bars, but great flavor and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe to "whip up" at the last minute. They are very moist, but not too crumbly, and taste great served with whip cream! However, they are best the first day after they are made, so I don't recommend making them too far in advance. Also, I added a dash (aprox 1/2 tsp) of Pumpkin Pie Spice to the batter for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
To reduce oil, I subbed 3/4c oil & 1/4c water. To reduce sugar, 1 3/4c sugar & 1/4c applesauce. I also didn't add the ginger & reduced the nutmeg to 1/4tsp. I wanted pumpkin bars, not gingerbread-tasting pumpkin. It was very good, but takes longer to bake. I'll try a larger pan next time or maybe I'll skip the water. I added half cup raisins, too. It was a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was the perfect consistency not to light and not too heavy. I used 2 cups of real pumpkin (not canned) and I think that next time I will put 3 cups in. The pumpkin flavor was not strong enough. It is best eaten the day after. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Because I added 1 c chocolate chips, I used 3/4 c softened butter, 1-1/2 c sugar, and 1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice (for the spices). It came out delicious! The texture is soft, but handle-able and nice. I'd love to use a cream cheese frosting, but half my family is anti-frosting anything. This is a definite keeper! (I think I could even reduce the sugar more. Next time I'll use 1-1/4 cup or even just 1 cup. The chocolate chips make it plenty sweet.) GLUTEN FREE version: I used 2/3 c (each) chickpea flour, fine corn flour, and tapioca flour. I also added 2 tsps Xantham gum. (Brown rice flour could be used for the fine corn.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used several options suggested by reviewers on this recipe, and it turned out great, and much healthier. Sub: applesauce for oil, 1/4c splenda brown sugar blend + 1/4c white sugar vs 2c white sugar, used 1/2 wheat flour vs all white, and added 1/3c dried cranberries. very moist, not too sweet bar. Was a hit, and will be a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-Berly Boyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Good recipe. Easy to prepare. Moist. More of a cake than what you typically think of a bar. Next time I would use cool whip instead of serving with ice cream as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
very easy to make & i put the batter into 2 small square pyrex, this way you can share ! i also made a cream cheese frosting. This is a keeper recipe. My 3yr old daughter loves it & asked for it. to make it more nuturious add tofu pureed in with the pumpkin before adding the pumpkin (this gives the recipe protein ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good I think I will add a box of vanilla pudding (like I do for cake mixes a lot) just to add a tinge more moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States