Pumpkin Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Because I added 1 c chocolate chips, I used 3/4 c softened butter, 1-1/2 c sugar, and 1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice (for the spices). It came out delicious! The texture is soft, but handle-able and nice. I'd love to use a cream cheese frosting, but half my family is anti-frosting anything. This is a definite keeper! (I think I could even reduce the sugar more. Next time I'll use 1-1/4 cup or even just 1 cup. The chocolate chips make it plenty sweet.) GLUTEN FREE version: I used 2/3 c (each) chickpea flour, fine corn flour, and tapioca flour. I also added 2 tsps Xantham gum. (Brown rice flour could be used for the fine corn.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good I think I will add a box of vanilla pudding (like I do for cake mixes a lot) just to add a tinge more moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
super easy and nice and light. 25 min was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used several options suggested by reviewers on this recipe, and it turned out great, and much healthier. Sub: applesauce for oil, 1/4c splenda brown sugar blend + 1/4c white sugar vs 2c white sugar, used 1/2 wheat flour vs all white, and added 1/3c dried cranberries. very moist, not too sweet bar. Was a hit, and will be a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
very easy to make & i put the batter into 2 small square pyrex, this way you can share ! i also made a cream cheese frosting. This is a keeper recipe. My 3yr old daughter loves it & asked for it. to make it more nuturious add tofu pureed in with the pumpkin before adding the pumpkin (this gives the recipe protein ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Not sure why this ones ratings are so high. It is super greasy - maybe doing that applesauce trick might be a good idea. Also, I just can't have pumpkin bread without nuts (although I didnt have any on hand) so that will be a must if I ever make this again. But, I don't think I will. Good for what it was - a quick throw togehter with things I had on hand. Gave me my first taste of pumpkin for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Loved it! Made a few modifications: used fresh pumpkin, cut the sugar in half, and used whole wheat flour. Turned out more like cake than bars, but great flavor and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was the perfect consistency not to light and not too heavy. I used 2 cups of real pumpkin (not canned) and I think that next time I will put 3 cups in. The pumpkin flavor was not strong enough. It is best eaten the day after. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Very moist and flavorful. I substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil to lessen fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Good recipe. Easy to prepare. Moist. More of a cake than what you typically think of a bar. Next time I would use cool whip instead of serving with ice cream as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States