Pumpkin Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
Happily gobbled up at a Halloween pot-luck party. NOTE: The recipe doesn't list salt as an ingredient and uses oil instead of "salted" butter. I think the flavor is enhanced with an 1/8 to a 1/4 tsp. of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. The reviews commented that it was more airy than your standard bar and had light pumpkin flavor; I like a lot of pumpkin so I used a whole can of pumpkin (about double what the recipe calls for) and compensated with an extra 1/4 c of flour and only half the amount of oil. The result: very dense and pumpkiny, very delicious. I also added 1/4 tsp of salt and 1/2 c of walnuts as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
These bars were very moist and very good. I used half wheat flour and half applesauce and canola oil in place of the vegi. oil. It worked out fine and makes it a bit healthier. I will use another teaspoon of pumpkin spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
As a low-carb dieter, I am always looking for recipes I can adapt to suit my diet, and this one worked perfectly! The relatively small amounts of flour and sugar were easily adaptable and these still came out moist and flavorful. I reduced the raisins and added chopped pecans to mine. These would be great either frosted or just dusted with powdered sugar. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
An excellent, easy recipe for pumpkin bars! I omitted the raisins just because I prefer them without, but I also did find out that the glaze tends to sink right into the bars if left covered overnight - so my advice is to wait until you're about to serve them to glaze them. I'll definitely make these again, they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I made this recipe but made them as muffins and they are so good. my kids thought they were great. I left out the raisins on half of the muffins. they are moist and the pumpkin flavor is light. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Good and moist, but I wouldn't call this a bar. It's a light, spongy pumpkin cake. I tend to think of bars as more dense. I made the recipe as is and mine was done by 30 min. I didn't have maple syrup, so I just used powdered sugar and water and lightly drizzled it on top. This cake is very light, so cutting them into bars won't work. I just made them into little cake squares. My kids loved them. Good simple recipe for an everyday dessert. I wouldn't make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
made them with my class in school and we all agreed on a 5....added the salt as others had suggested. moist and exceelent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I enjoyed eating this one. And my friends loved it too. The only thing i changed is that i used 2 cups of pumpkin puree instead of one and a pinch of salt. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great! So happy to find a recipe with much less oil. Actually, I didn't even have 1/2 c. oil (I used 1/3 c. and just added a little bit more pumpkin). Just a teensy weensy spongy, but covered in cream cheese frosting, DELISH! These were thinner than I like, so maybe I'd use a 9x9 pan. Didn't use raisins or maple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States