Pumpkin Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
Happily gobbled up at a Halloween pot-luck party. NOTE: The recipe doesn't list salt as an ingredient and uses oil instead of "salted" butter. I think the flavor is enhanced with an 1/8 to a 1/4 tsp. of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. The reviews commented that it was more airy than your standard bar and had light pumpkin flavor; I like a lot of pumpkin so I used a whole can of pumpkin (about double what the recipe calls for) and compensated with an extra 1/4 c of flour and only half the amount of oil. The result: very dense and pumpkiny, very delicious. I also added 1/4 tsp of salt and 1/2 c of walnuts as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
These bars were very moist and very good. I used half wheat flour and half applesauce and canola oil in place of the vegi. oil. It worked out fine and makes it a bit healthier. I will use another teaspoon of pumpkin spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
As a low-carb dieter, I am always looking for recipes I can adapt to suit my diet, and this one worked perfectly! The relatively small amounts of flour and sugar were easily adaptable and these still came out moist and flavorful. I reduced the raisins and added chopped pecans to mine. These would be great either frosted or just dusted with powdered sugar. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysta Leydsman Fecke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
An excellent, easy recipe for pumpkin bars! I omitted the raisins just because I prefer them without, but I also did find out that the glaze tends to sink right into the bars if left covered overnight - so my advice is to wait until you're about to serve them to glaze them. I'll definitely make these again, they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I made this recipe but made them as muffins and they are so good. my kids thought they were great. I left out the raisins on half of the muffins. they are moist and the pumpkin flavor is light. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Good and moist, but I wouldn't call this a bar. It's a light, spongy pumpkin cake. I tend to think of bars as more dense. I made the recipe as is and mine was done by 30 min. I didn't have maple syrup, so I just used powdered sugar and water and lightly drizzled it on top. This cake is very light, so cutting them into bars won't work. I just made them into little cake squares. My kids loved them. Good simple recipe for an everyday dessert. I wouldn't make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
made them with my class in school and we all agreed on a 5....added the salt as others had suggested. moist and exceelent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I enjoyed eating this one. And my friends loved it too. The only thing i changed is that i used 2 cups of pumpkin puree instead of one and a pinch of salt. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great! So happy to find a recipe with much less oil. Actually, I didn't even have 1/2 c. oil (I used 1/3 c. and just added a little bit more pumpkin). Just a teensy weensy spongy, but covered in cream cheese frosting, DELISH! These were thinner than I like, so maybe I'd use a 9x9 pan. Didn't use raisins or maple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States