Pumpkin Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Took the advice of the other reviewers and used a whole can (15oz) of pumpkin, cut the oil to 1/3 cup, used brown instead of white sugar, added 2tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp ginger, 1/2tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp nutmeg instead of pumpkin spice mix, added 1/4 cup pecans. Everything else stayed the same. Turned out moist and deliciously spicy. I'm not a huge sugar consumer, so next time I would cut down on the sugar a bit and not use the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
great tasting pumpkin bars...moist. I used 15 oz can of pumpkin and reduced oil by half as suggested in other reviews..I had trouble with icing...and blotted most of it off...then sprinkled some sifted conf sugar to cover my mistake! I will make another batch for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I used 2 cups of sweet potatoes in place of the 1 cup of pumpkin, and added extra flour to compensate. They are fantastic! I used organic sugar and whole wheat flour. I left out the raisins as my husband is not a fan. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Served these at a Tupperware party...none left. I read they were kinda thin so I made 1 and a half the recipe in a 9x13 pan with pecans instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I lightened this up with applesauce for half the oil and egg beaters. The consistency of the bar is spot on and very moist. I did not care for the raisins in it and when I make it again, I would not use them. By request I used a cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze. Tasty and will go well with the ham dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These pumpkin bars are delicious and were a big hit at home and work. I used craisins instead of raisins. Yum! The only criticism of this recipe is the maple glaze. 1/2 cup of powered sugar and 1 Tbls of maple syrup made a gummy lump. I kept adding maple syrup alternating with small amounts of water to thin it out enough to frost. Bars were great - glaze not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We even accidentally mixed the glaze into the batter and it still turned out terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Hann

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I enjoyed eating this one. And my friends loved it too. The only thing i changed is that i used 2 cups of pumpkin puree instead of one and a pinch of salt. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great! So happy to find a recipe with much less oil. Actually, I didn't even have 1/2 c. oil (I used 1/3 c. and just added a little bit more pumpkin). Just a teensy weensy spongy, but covered in cream cheese frosting, DELISH! These were thinner than I like, so maybe I'd use a 9x9 pan. Didn't use raisins or maple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe was so GOOOD and it was very easy to make, I made them as muffins and they turned out wonderful. I made them last night and brought to the office and even people who don't like pumpkin are loving them! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States