Pumpkin Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Use a jelly roll pan and bake at same temp/same time for a more "bar" like result. Still very moist and chewy this way. To make this a "finger food", cut into 2x2 squares to serve. I only had 2 eggs on hand and it didn't alter the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
The most moist cake I have ever baked. Everyone loves it. Frost the cake and then cut in to bars. Too moist and soft to frost after you cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVON203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This is a good recipe, but like other reviewers suggest, it is a cake, not a bar. The cooking time is incorrect also, it takes much longer than the time stated. I cooked mine for about 55 minutes and it turned out to be a really light fluffy cake. Also in addition to the 2 tsp cinnamon I added about 1/4 tsp cloves, some nutmeg, allspice, and ginger. The taste was great. Overall, we enjoyed it, it is tasty, just not a bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
This is a great recipe! My family has made this exact recipe for years. Co-workers can't wait for fall just so I will make these bars and bring them to work. I do not like pumpkin pie, put I love these bars and the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I really liked this...it was more like a cake than bars. It was big and fluffy, and even more so with the cream cheese frosting. Everyone at Thanksgiving liked it. I had to increase my oven temperature by 25 degrees and bake an additional 20 minutes over the original recipe instructions but that didn't bother me. I also liked it because I already had all the ingredients in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
These were a big hit with my family. Easy to make using common ingredients. My oven cooks on the hot side, so I didnt have to adjust the bake time at all. I also made muffins from this recipe by reducing the bake time to 19 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
We call this Pumpkin Bread and make it for breakfast. Pumpkin is loaded with Beta Caratene which converts to Vitamin A. So, it is great for the eyes. The kids love it. I altered the recipe to make it healthier-low cholesterol & low fat. I use 8 egg whites since I am allergic to egg yolks. I substitute apple sauce for the oil, use wheat flour instead of white flour, and use honey instead of white sugar. I add 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ginger, & 1/4 teaspoon cloves. After it is in the pan I sprinkle generously with pumpkin pie spice on the top. I leave off the cream cheese icing because it is sweet enough without it. This makes a great fall breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I first had these pumkin bars when I stopped in at an amish bakery in Northern Michigan, and my niece and I fell in love with these cookies. When I got home I searched the net for the recipe and found this one and it was just as sweet, we love 'em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
these are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is a great alternative to pumpkin pie, a nice way to keep up with the traditonal holiday pumpkin with a whole different flavor. Everyone loved it, including myself who doesnt even like pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States