Pumpkin Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I wanted to find a bar type recipe, with the consistency of brownies. I heeded the recommendations of others to adjust for the baking soda/powder mistakes. Yummy, but not what I wanted. A NOTE to the cream cheese frosting..I only added 1 cup of confectioner's sugar and it was plenty sweet. No need for 3 cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOCHIE71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Yummy! I used brown sugar instead of white, and adjusted the baking soda and powder to teaspoons instead of tablespoons. Someone should really edit the recipe so people don't mess it up. Are those pecans in the pic? I'm thinking I might toast some and throw them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
EVERYONE loves these bars, they've made me famous. People always ask me to make these or ask for the recipe on a regular basis. Even people that don't usually like pumpkin desserts, love these bars. I do make quite a few changes though: 1) teaspoons of baking powder/soda, not Tablespoons as others have mentioned 2) I almost halve the sugar and no one notices. Plus I usually go 50/50 on white and brown 3) I substitute a cup of applesauce (no sugar added) for the oil 4) I like more cream cheese in my frosting so I usually do about 6oz cream cheese, 6Tbsp butter, and powdered sugar to taste which is probably 1.5 to 2 cups My changes make it a little more dense of a cake but no one seems to notice and they are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used twice the cream cheese and half of the powdered sugar. Delicious Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickleDVM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
ONLY USE 2 TEASPOONS BAKING POWDER AND 1 TEASPOON BAKING SODA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Incredibly moist and delicious. We used store bought cream cheese frosting and added some walnuts to it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hudson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I did everything according to the recipe and mine came out more like cake than bars. When I tried to cut them they just crumbled. The cake was delicious though... especially with the frosting in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I followed a combination of severall previous comments. I put dark chocolate (shaved) with white chocolate spinkled on the top before baking. Also put 1/4 tsp butter flavor in addition to the vanilla in the frosting. Tasted fabulous. Everyone at work just loved them. Downside is that they keep wanting me to bring more of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
just before I poured into pan I added 1/2 C walnuts and !/2 C raisins and stirred, and yes I did use teaspoons instead of tablespoons for the baking powder and soda...came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Taking cues from people above --thanks! :) -- I swapped out the cinnamon for an extra 1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice, substituted a 1/2 c white sugar and 1/2 (or maybe 1, I forget) cup brown sugar for the 2 cups white sugar, used 2 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda (rather than Tablespoons), and instead of 1 cup oil, used 1/2 c oil with 1/2 c cinnamon applesauce. For frosting, used 6 oz or so cream cheese mixed with enough powdered sugar to sweeten it up a bit, and then spread thin layer over top. Got great reviews from people at the party-- including that it was nice they weren't overly sweet. Baking them there was the perfect touch for the harvest party-- people kept coming to the kitchen to find out what the aroma was, and were excited to eat them still warm. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States