Pumpkin Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Made these for a party at club and everyone likes them. I did put a 1/4 tsp. cloves in. Was moist and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Warnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I made it more of a cake in ONE 9x13 pan! Also used only 1.5 cups sugar, and it was still plenty sweet! Served with cream cheese frosting!! Yummy!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Some have complained that these are not "bars" but cake... I will agree, in fact I call this pumpkin cake when I make and serve it, which I do often, all year round! I love love love these... this recipe is so light, fluffy, and moist! We often enjoy it plain or sprinkled with powdered sugar... I usually half the recipe because of how I serve it... I have followed this recipe to a T, but I actually prefer to use 1tsp pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2tsp nutmeg in my halfed recipe... my cousin who hates pumpkin loved this and asked for the recipe... my mother in law said I should sell these to a coffee shop or starbucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I've made these 4 or 5 times. Flavor is great! I chose this recipe because it uses the highest pumpkin to flour/sugar ratio of any recipe. I've had equally good results with 1.5 t of soda and powder, and a little less chemical tasting. I'd like to try it with 1 less egg, just to see if it ends up slightly less cake-like, although it hasn't bothered me so far! I frost these with the Cream cheese frosting II recipe, on this site. We've made these for recitals, baby/wedding showers, and just to enjoy on a slow weekend. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made these for church when I had to serve lunch. They recieved several compliments. I will make these again as it made two 9x13 pans, great when you have to serve a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christarae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is a good recipe. I split the recipe, and added ground cloves. Yay for yummy fall treats!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaAnn
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Since I always make a mess of cutting bars, I tried this recipe in small cupcakes - they came out wonderful! The recipe will make about 50 cupcakes. I topped them with the cream cheese frosting and caramel flavored candy corn. I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. I tried with whole wheat pastry flour and they were just as good as with white flour. Also cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
yummy gonna make this again for a group of kids at my church. I added some pumpkin pie spice(1/8 teaspoon or a little bit more) with the cinnamon (still two teaspoons),tastes wonderful. Used fresh pumpkin for it. terrific, my go to pumpkin bars from now on. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is so yummy!!! It's quick and easy to make, but next time I might add more cinnamon or use pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisack27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Fantastic. My family love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherGriffis

Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States