Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Bed & Breakfast quality - moist, tender and sweet! I followed recipe as written. Be sure to allow 30 minutes prep time. Also, if you do not have the 1 Tbls. pumpkin pie spice, substitute: 1 1/2 t. cinnamon, 3/4 t. ginger, scant 1/2 t. allspice, scant 1/2 t. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
524 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Don’t use the streusel topping. The muffins are already very sweet. In fact, I may cut ½ cup of the sugar out next time. But they were great and everybody at work gobbled them up. I used all whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and I also used a full can of pumpkin puree because I didn’t want to waste any. I used ½ cup applesauce instead of ½ cup vegetable oil. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I used 2 tsp. cinnamon, ½ tsp. ginger, and ½ tsp. nutmeg as one review suggested. The end result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
308 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
We made ours into a 9 x 13 coffee cake & it was very moist. We used other suggestions given about the use of brown sugar instead of white sugar for topping & used suggested portion of spices for the pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, ginger, all spice, & nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I loved these muffins! I added extra pumpkin and substituted applesauce for the oil, which made them low fat a delicious! I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe! The only substitution I made was using brown sugar whenever it called for while sugar. I do this with most of my dessert recipes and I think they taste better. I also doubled the recipe for the streusel. My family absolutely loved these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is a fantastic muffin recipe that holds up well when 1/2 whole wheat flour and some wheat germ are used. Really nutritious and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
One of the best muffin recipes I've ever made. I used cinnamon and nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice, and I used half white/half brown sugar. I also added vanilla and nuts. This recipe is already in my recipe folder at home, and I am planning on making them again over thanksgiving for my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I substituted 1/2 cup of melted butter for the oil and prepared these in 8 baby loaf pans. I gave them out as gifts and got rave reviews. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Wonderful! I admit I also added the rest of the can of pumpkin puree, it didn't hurt the muffins at all. I made different types of mini muffins for holiday gift trays and they were the favorite! I will be making these lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
These muffins were excellent. The whole family loved them. I will definitely make again. Good cold weather food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States