Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Bed & Breakfast quality - moist, tender and sweet! I followed recipe as written. Be sure to allow 30 minutes prep time. Also, if you do not have the 1 Tbls. pumpkin pie spice, substitute: 1 1/2 t. cinnamon, 3/4 t. ginger, scant 1/2 t. allspice, scant 1/2 t. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Don’t use the streusel topping. The muffins are already very sweet. In fact, I may cut ½ cup of the sugar out next time. But they were great and everybody at work gobbled them up. I used all whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and I also used a full can of pumpkin puree because I didn’t want to waste any. I used ½ cup applesauce instead of ½ cup vegetable oil. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I used 2 tsp. cinnamon, ½ tsp. ginger, and ½ tsp. nutmeg as one review suggested. The end result was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
We made ours into a 9 x 13 coffee cake & it was very moist. We used other suggestions given about the use of brown sugar instead of white sugar for topping & used suggested portion of spices for the pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, ginger, all spice, & nutmeg).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I loved these muffins! I added extra pumpkin and substituted applesauce for the oil, which made them low fat a delicious! I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This is a fabulous recipe! The only substitution I made was using brown sugar whenever it called for while sugar. I do this with most of my dessert recipes and I think they taste better. I also doubled the recipe for the streusel. My family absolutely loved these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is a fantastic muffin recipe that holds up well when 1/2 whole wheat flour and some wheat germ are used. Really nutritious and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
One of the best muffin recipes I've ever made. I used cinnamon and nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice, and I used half white/half brown sugar. I also added vanilla and nuts. This recipe is already in my recipe folder at home, and I am planning on making them again over thanksgiving for my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I substituted 1/2 cup of melted butter for the oil and prepared these in 8 baby loaf pans. I gave them out as gifts and got rave reviews. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Wonderful! I admit I also added the rest of the can of pumpkin puree, it didn't hurt the muffins at all. I made different types of mini muffins for holiday gift trays and they were the favorite! I will be making these lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
These muffins were excellent. The whole family loved them. I will definitely make again. Good cold weather food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States