Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
YUM! Made this exactly as stated, only ran out of streusel topping (I was being generous) after topping about 12 of these and made 1/2 a recipe more to finish off the muffins. I would recommend doing this as the crunchy streusel topping really made this muffin! I would make more streusel (1 1/2 recipe) again - and there will be a next time because these were wonderful. :-) Oh, and they go perfect with thick bacon. And coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Added apple sauce instead of oil. These were perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
My daughter is allergic to eggs and nuts. To adapt the recipe for her issues and our taste, I used cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice and a whole 15 oz. can of pumpkin to make up for the egg I left out. The muffins have a moist, a little denser than cake-like consistency (not crumbly like some muffin-without-egg-recipes) and they taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I loved these muffins-but I DID alter the streusel topping by using 1/4 Cup real butter, room temp, 1/4 C flour, 1/4 Cup white sugar, 1/4 Cup brown sugar, approx 1/4 Cup oats, and some cinnamon. I don't usually measure, but these are pretty close. Enjoy! Oh, also, I didn't have pumpkin pie spice but used a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Moist and delish! Halved the recipe which made 6 regular sized muffins and 5 mini's. I took the suggestion of reducing the sugar by half which turned out to the the perfect amount of sweetness for us. I added 1/4 c. raisins and will try shredding the apple next time. Walnuts would also make a wonderful addition. Make sure to fill your muffins to the brim to get the perfect muffin top. Before you pop them into the oven spray the top of the muffin tin with spray so the overflow doesn't stick. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe! Because I had an acorn squash to use up I baked it then made puree with it and used that instead of the pumpkin. Left all other ingredients the same, then baked in a bundt pan instead of muffins. (55 mins at 350.) Perfection and rave reviews. Will make again soon I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Perfectly delicious. I do not add the streusel topping and they taste just fine. Save a few calories that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplyjmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was looking for a great, moist pumpkin muffin recipe and I came across this one. I couldn't have found a better one. When I cook muffins I only use the large muffin pans and a single recipe makes me 12 large muffins. I've made this recipe twice now and the first time I followed the recipe exactly but the second time I only used 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1 tsp of ground cinnamon. The flavor was more mellow. I also added a full bag of white baking chips and about a cup of chopped pecans. The white chocolate is not overpowering and gives the muffins a touch of vanilla with each bite. This is definately a favorite of ours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DROE1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Seriously the best of the pumpkin muffin recipes I've tried. I subbed in half wheat flour and half brown sugar, both of which I think improved an already good recipe. This recipe is practically fool-proof. I chopped the apples in my food processor, to varying sizes. The time on my oven was 35 minutes -- exactly as stated on the recipe. However, my oven seems to run slightly slow, so I would check at 25-30 minutes if you have a fast oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
very yummy, I made a double batch and got 4 dozen muffins. only problem I had was running out of the streusel about halfway through, but that usually happens with me and streusel :) the only thing I changed was that I added some quick oats to the streusel (about 1/2 cup, more or less). this was an attempt to make it go further, but it also made a yummy little crunch! oh, and I added a few dashes of cinnamon into the batter, too :) om nom nom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States