Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as written and I have to say that these were good, but not amazing. I don't think there was enough "spice" in them... pumpkin anything needs a good dose of spices to really offset the flavor, and I don't think the 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice does that here. I am always hesitant to use pumpkin pie spice anyways, rather than mixing my own, and in this case I wish I'd used spices more akin to what you would use in pumpkin bread. I think cloves would add a wonderful touch to this recipe. Other than that, they baked up fine and the streudel was delicious. I didn't have a problem with sweetness like some others said, but I enjoy sweet things so that may be why. I thought they were just barely sweet enough. All in all, I would make again using the same base recipe but switching out the spices for pumpkin bread spicing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Good but not spectacular...I used a full can of pumpkin and applesauce in place of the oil. I'll try something different the next time I am looking to make pumpkin muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I completely agree with the comment about the streusel not being necessary, even a bit too much. I also prefer to replace half of the oil with an equal amount of apple sauce so as to make it a bit healthier. I've made these a few times now, and people keep begging me to make more...especially when autumn rolls around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Made this exactly as written and it was perfect! My 5 and 3 year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe was very easy and VERY good, so I can't give it less than 5 stars. I'm really glad I tried it, but I'm not sure if I'll make this exact recipe again. For me it was too dense for muffins and would have been better as a bread or cake. I did love the Pumkin and Apple together though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I have to say these muffins are amazing! I changed the recipe a little just because i am gluten free but still awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa MC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I did not add the streusel to the muffins. I may make as directed for a Thanksgiving breakfast muffin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Yummy! Moist, great texture and flavor. I used pumpkin pie mix and added cinnamon, but it needs even more spice than that. Next time I'll add a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I thought this recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States