Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I had a lot of apples that needed to be used, and was looking for a healthy muffin recipe. I doubled the recipe, and it made 18 large muffins, cooked at 325 for 50 min, as the size was significantly larger than the standard muffin tin. All I had on hand was a large can of pumpkin pie filling, as opposed to regular pumpkin puree, so I cut back on the sugar and pumpkin pie spice by about 25%. I also used NO oil, just an extra cup of the pumpkin pie filling (extra pumpkin puree would work fine too). This makes them slightly more dense instead of light and airy but still delicious and so much healthier. I did make the crumb topping as a treat, but they would have been tasty without it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I omitted the streusel topping and toppled the muffins with raw hulled pumpkin seeds. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystajo
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was a great recipe - I followed the advice of others and made the following changes: Change - to 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup of white sugar (not 2 cups sugar) Change - 1/2 cup apple sauce (not 1/2 cup oil) Add - 1 tsp vanilla extract Add - 1/2 tsp almond extract I also did not make the topping and found them still sweet and delicious. Will definintely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Great recipe. I love to make this with fresh pumpkin or butternut squash. When made with fresh pumpkin or squash it is easy to reduce the sugar without losing the flavor. I reduce the sugar to 1 cup and substitute some of the oil with applesauce. I omit the strudel topping because the muffins are already sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wucki22
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe as is + 1 tsp of vanilla in there. It made 24 muffins perfectly. Very filling muffin that will make a grab 'n go for breakfast. Crispy on the outside, moist on the inside. Delicious, wouldn't change a thing. The spices were a wee bit overpowering though... I know my mom would probably back those down... but I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These were just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was recommended by allrecipes. In fact, it was a staff pick. I'm a little confused. The muffins had no flavour. I thought it would be a little sweeter. I don't know how to describe it. They were sweet, but all you could taste was sugar. The apple seems to be an useless addition because you can't taste it. It just tastes like the inside of a pumpkin. I ended up having to make a cream cheese icing to put on top just to give it a little oomph. I followed the recipe exactly. I made half with the streusel and half without because some reviewers said the muffins were so sweet. Just a bit disappointed because I get fabulous pumpkin muffins at the bakery and I thought I could duplicate them at home. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil_goldie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I just made this recipe & it's delicious! I did make some modifications like, cutting down the sugar by 1/2 cup. Using 1/2 white, 1/2 brown.. omitting the oil completely & using cinnamon applesauce. I also used less sugar in the streusal & added quick oats & using the whole can of 15oz. Pumpkin..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This recipe is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States