Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Mixed and kneeded in the Kitchen Aide with a dough hook for 10 minutes. Texture came out great. Not a large second rise in the bread pan, but the finished texture was right for a heavier bread and the taste was great. I am going to try adding gluten next time to see if the rise is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Loved it, loved it! This is a really great bread recipe. Easy to prepare using your bread machine, smells wonderful while in the oven, and tastes great. This bread makes a great grilled ham and cheese sandwich. Thanks so much for sharing, Rodney. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I don't have a breadmaker but it was still very easy, and rose perfectly, this after I let it sleep in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This pumperknickel has great flavor and a great dark color. It rose well in the bread pan, but it didn't rise as high as I thought it would while baking. The taste makes up for that though. Next time I'll add more caraway seeds, but that's just because I really like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Haven't had any kids try it, so, cannot rate that, but, I make this bread for my mother because she loves pumpernickel. She says it's the best bread she has ever had. It is worth the extra ingredients and time it takes to make this bread, because she says it's so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Mmm, very good. I visited America this summer and fell in love with pumpernickel bagels, then cried when I came back to Scotland and the best I could get was German Rye bread. This recipe stopped my tears, it is better than the bagels. It has a strong flavour, plenty of caraway seeds, and works well even if you do just bake it in the breadmaker. The bread also keeps well in the fridge for ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This is a bread recipe that I have wanted for a long time. Now I have found it. This is just like what the Outback Steak House serves. I changed the loaf size though. I divided the dough into 4 small loaves and they turned out perfect. I took these to work and my co-workers couldn't believe how good it was. This is a definate keeper. Thanks Rodney!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I baked this in my bread machine on the whole wheat setting and it came out great. However I like the regular caraway rye bread recipes I've tried on this site better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
UNBELIEVABLY good! I didn't have caraway at hand, but even without it bread was so flavorful, wonderful texture and crispy crust. Next time I'll follow the recipe completely and bake bread in the oven rather than in the bread machine, I think it would rise better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
this recipe for pumpernickel is great.Similar to taste of Publix pumpernickel . Only changes I made was to add 1 cup of raisins and eliminate caraway seeds.Another time I'll get the caraway.I didn't have bread flour so added some vital gluten to regular flour. 5 ****** for Rodney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States