Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I really love pumpernickel bread and this one is delightful. I followed the recipe but made it in the kitchen aid and baked it in the oven. It turned out moist and delicious! I am so happy to have found this recipe thank you. I will make it many more times....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Mixed and kneeded in the Kitchen Aide with a dough hook for 10 minutes. Texture came out great. Not a large second rise in the bread pan, but the finished texture was right for a heavier bread and the taste was great. I am going to try adding gluten next time to see if the rise is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This is a bread recipe that I have wanted for a long time. Now I have found it. This is just like what the Outback Steak House serves. I changed the loaf size though. I divided the dough into 4 small loaves and they turned out perfect. I took these to work and my co-workers couldn't believe how good it was. This is a definate keeper. Thanks Rodney!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Out of the few rye/dark bread recipes listed on this site, this came out the best. I did bake in the bread machine. The loaf was smaller than most - more like a 1lb loaf but shape and texture was good. Taste is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierce City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Finally! A pumpernickel bread that isn't as dense as a rock! I got a nice-sized loaf that was fragrant and light- textured--can't wait 'til tomorrow to have a turkey pastrami sandwich made on this wonderful bread. I adjusted it for high altitued: decrease liquid by 2 T., decrease sugars by 1/2 tsp., decrease yeast by 1/2 tsp., and increase salt by 1/4 tsp. When I first started using a bread machine, my loaves would always rise up beautifully and then fall during the baking process. When I started adjusting for high altitude (we live at 7000 ft.), the problem was solved! I baked this bread from start to finish in the bread machine; I also added 3 T. gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Easy to make without a bread maker! Great taste and rich texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I don't have a breadmaker but it was still very easy, and rose perfectly, this after I let it sleep in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Mmm, very good. I visited America this summer and fell in love with pumpernickel bagels, then cried when I came back to Scotland and the best I could get was German Rye bread. This recipe stopped my tears, it is better than the bagels. It has a strong flavour, plenty of caraway seeds, and works well even if you do just bake it in the breadmaker. The bread also keeps well in the fridge for ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Haven't had any kids try it, so, cannot rate that, but, I make this bread for my mother because she loves pumpernickel. She says it's the best bread she has ever had. It is worth the extra ingredients and time it takes to make this bread, because she says it's so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The only thing I added was 3T of Gluten. The bread tuned out very nice, rose well, great color, my husband didn't think the flavor was quite right. I might cut down on the cocoa powder next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States