Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
this recipe for pumpernickel is great.Similar to taste of Publix pumpernickel . Only changes I made was to add 1 cup of raisins and eliminate caraway seeds.Another time I'll get the caraway.I didn't have bread flour so added some vital gluten to regular flour. 5 ****** for Rodney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
UNBELIEVABLY good! I didn't have caraway at hand, but even without it bread was so flavorful, wonderful texture and crispy crust. Next time I'll follow the recipe completely and bake bread in the oven rather than in the bread machine, I think it would rise better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I baked this in my bread machine on the whole wheat setting and it came out great. However I like the regular caraway rye bread recipes I've tried on this site better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Mixed and kneeded in the Kitchen Aide with a dough hook for 10 minutes. Texture came out great. Not a large second rise in the bread pan, but the finished texture was right for a heavier bread and the taste was great. I am going to try adding gluten next time to see if the rise is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Loved it, loved it! This is a really great bread recipe. Easy to prepare using your bread machine, smells wonderful while in the oven, and tastes great. This bread makes a great grilled ham and cheese sandwich. Thanks so much for sharing, Rodney. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This pumperknickel has great flavor and a great dark color. It rose well in the bread pan, but it didn't rise as high as I thought it would while baking. The taste makes up for that though. Next time I'll add more caraway seeds, but that's just because I really like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This is a bread recipe that I have wanted for a long time. Now I have found it. This is just like what the Outback Steak House serves. I changed the loaf size though. I divided the dough into 4 small loaves and they turned out perfect. I took these to work and my co-workers couldn't believe how good it was. This is a definate keeper. Thanks Rodney!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Mmm, very good. I visited America this summer and fell in love with pumpernickel bagels, then cried when I came back to Scotland and the best I could get was German Rye bread. This recipe stopped my tears, it is better than the bagels. It has a strong flavour, plenty of caraway seeds, and works well even if you do just bake it in the breadmaker. The bread also keeps well in the fridge for ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Out of the few rye/dark bread recipes listed on this site, this came out the best. I did bake in the bread machine. The loaf was smaller than most - more like a 1lb loaf but shape and texture was good. Taste is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierce City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Easy to make without a bread maker! Great taste and rich texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States