Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Pete
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe but kneaded in my KitchenAid Mixer and baked it in the oven at 325F for about 45 minutes. It turned out really nice. I think I'll be adding more sugar next time though; I like seet breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This makes a really nice loaf. I make it by hand and it turns out just lovely and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Didn't rise as much as I would like, but the flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I was very pleased with the final results - I opted to make this all by hand and bake in the oven as opposed to the bread machine. Nice dense loaf with great texture. It doesn't make a very big loaf, but the size is good enough for smaller sandwiches. Tastes great toasted. Next time, I'll add additional salt. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated. It turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very nice. Not quite the taste I remember from childhood,not as dense or strong. I will make this again with maybe a few tweaks when I figure them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Loved this recipe. Just out of personal taste, I think I will opt to add a little bit more salt and a tbsp of sugar next time (I like mine a little sweeter), but no changes other than that. I mixed in the KitchenAid for about 10 minutes, formed into a ball, and allowed it to rise as a bread bowl. Baked at 350 for approx 40 minutes, and served with Mississippi Six dip. Big hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Although I had to make a few alterations, this bread still came out great and just like I remember it as a kid. I left out the milk powder, since I did not have any and since I only had all purpose flour and rye flour, I used 2 c all purpose flour and 1 1/4 c rye flour and it was great. Next time I will add more caraway seeds, since I love this taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I did the receipe exactly as written but it came out hard and dense. I personally liked it, but my family found it hard to chew. Would love to have suggestions on how I could have made it softer and more edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
It was ok, nothing to write home about. Much cheaper to get it at the local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States