Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this exactly as recipe stated, except I did it all the way in the bread maker, on 1.5lb loaf and light crust setting. I was perfect, and the kids love it too! Thank you so so much, just what I wanted:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
After trying the popular rye bread recipe yesterday and failing miserably, I decided to try something with more flavor. My first loaf of this turned out DELISH! I read through all of the reviews before beginning and basically took everyone's advice. Here are the changes I made: *I brewed 2 shots of espresso then diluted it with water to get my 1.25 cups of warm water. I then dissolved a generous 1.5 Tbls molasses in it. Checked the temp, added the yeast and whisked. (subbed all this for the instant coffee and plain ol' water) *I only had Ghirardelli sweetened cocoa, so I used 2Tbls of it instead of the dry milk powder & unsweetened cocoa powder. *I also added about 1/4 tsp each of grated nutmeg & ground clove. *In addition to using 1/4 c. bread flour, I added 3 Tbls wheat gluten. I don't have a bread machine, so I did it all by hand. The first rise looked ok, but the second rise wasn't as obvious. I also flubbed and forgot to add the veggie oil until I was halfway through with kneading, but I added it as soon as I realized and it seemed to be fairly forgiving. Dusted the pan with cornmeal, scored an X in the top, & sprinkled the loaf with brown sugar. It baked for 40 full minutes, but probably would be perfect with 45. Not impressed with the size, but the texture and flavor are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I love this recipe... it has a lot of ingredients to assemble, but is worth it! I make it like several other reviewers, baking it on a greased baking sheet sprinkled with cornmeal, with a deep X cut in the top... more of a rustic loaf. It is wonderful warm with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Although the bread was not what I expected, it was nonetheless very good. I was expecting it to be slightly sweeter, therefore next time i will add about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I could also not find caraway seeds in my grocery store so i used a combination of poppy seeds and sesame seeds, which my family and I really liked. I mixed it in my kitchenaid and it still turned out perfectly. First, I added all the dry ingredients together. Then I dissovled the molasses in the warm water and then sprinkled the yeast on top until it foamed. I then added the oil and then added the wet to the dry in my kitchenaid with the mixing paddle. When it came together, i switched the the bread hook. I found that 10 minutes is necessary for the kneading time with the hook. Basically i just waited until the dough was not sticky. I then divided the dough into two rounds and let it rest for ten minutes. Then I pinched and tucked the dough into logs and placed them in oiled 7x9 pans that were sprinkled with cornmeal. I also brushed the top of the bread with milk and sprinkled more cornmeal on top. Next time I will also sprinkle some sugar on top, because the crust tastes somewhat bland. I let them sit in a warm place with a damp cloth over it for about 45 minutes until they had doubled. The second rise was great as well. I then baked them in a 375 oven for 30 minutes. Basically this bread would be great for sandwiches or toast. I was looking for more of a dinner roll type, b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Pretty darn good, heavy, but that is what we were looking for. Use light setting next time, double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pete
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe but kneaded in my KitchenAid Mixer and baked it in the oven at 325F for about 45 minutes. It turned out really nice. I think I'll be adding more sugar next time though; I like seet breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This makes a really nice loaf. I make it by hand and it turns out just lovely and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Didn't rise as much as I would like, but the flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I was very pleased with the final results - I opted to make this all by hand and bake in the oven as opposed to the bread machine. Nice dense loaf with great texture. It doesn't make a very big loaf, but the size is good enough for smaller sandwiches. Tastes great toasted. Next time, I'll add additional salt. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated. It turned out great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States