Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great Pumpernickel bread! Converted to sourdough and used sourdough starter, 210 grams and cut back 100 grams of water and all purpose four. Worked out great! Beat tasting rye bread I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Deakins
Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Very good. Second rise was pretty good. It doesn't make a big/high loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I changed this recipe a little. Instead of 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour, I used bread flour and then used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour instead of 1/2 cup. I had to add a little extra water, it is winter, so that may be why and I proofed it in the oven on the proof setting. It absolutely is the best Rye Bread I ever made. It rose perfectly and has a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Great recipe. I made the folowing changes. I used one full packet of yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons), Increased to 2 tablespoons molasses, added 1 tablespoon brown sugar, subtracted two tablespoons bread flour, added 2 tablespoons gluten flour, mixed for 15 minutes with bread hook, let rise 30 minutes under damp towel, second rise in 9x5 loaf pan for 1 hour, baked at 350 for 30 minutes and covered with foil for 10 more minutes. Great rise, and wonderful flavor. Loaf turned out beautiful and tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
it was very tasty but on the heavy side. i mixed in my cuisenart and it never formed a ball it stayed very tacky and didnt rise very well but i am going to play around with it cause it tastes so good and want to use it for sandwich bread if i can get it to rise:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made it aaa'artisan" style. I added 3T. gluten, also. It didn't rise upward, mostly out! I can see why this needs to bake in a pan! I did get a loaf aprox. 2 1/2 inches tall, tho' It is nice and light, although I thought there was too much cocoa. The flavor was very strong. Other than that, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
My husband said this was good but I am not a fan. It did not make a nice sized loaf, only about 3 inches tall. If I make it again I'll use an 8 X 4 pan and try to make it rise a little more. I even added 3 t. wheat gluten as suggested by one reviewer. I'll give it a 4 just because hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I love this recipe!! Perfect... the ONLY THING that I would change though is the amount of caraway seed... I found that there was too much and I would probably only put maybe half a tablespoon of it into the mix. Other than that, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriannaH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Sounds tastey..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent flavor and made excellent bagels!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States