Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was the best pumpernickel bread I ever ate. The batter was so dense, I was afraid it would not be good, but it turned out to be one of the best things I ever made. Will throw away all my other rye bread recipes and turn to this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe! Very soft. It could have been sweeter though. I made it into rolls and used them for rueban sliders. My toddler loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frankaff
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I added 1/2 cup brow sugar to let the yeast activate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used extra cocoa since we don't have coffee and I skipped the milk powder and threw a dash of milk into the kitchenaid. We didn't have bread flour so I used the all-purpose. The texture and everything was good but my husband and I were very confused about a weird strong taste that we have not had in rye breads before. Possibly the caraway? Anyway we can eat it and enjoy it just fine but we will probably have that "what's in this?" face for a while on our first bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My only tweak was instead of using water plus instant coffee I just used brewed coffee in place of the water. A couple other pumpernickel recipes I tried were too heavy on the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
"RYElly" not a rye/pumpernickel bread. Don't get me wrong - homemade fresh bread right out of the oven is soooo yummy and such a treat it's hard to see the negative. However, after going through the motions of making this bread - measuring, tempering, rising and resting and rising and baking - then slicing a nice hunk off a fresh loaf with a pat of butter - I fully expected to taste rye/pumperknickel...and I didn't. It was good, but not flavorful. My husband said it best, "something is missing." I responded with, "YA, the rye/pumpernickel taste! Hello" Anyhoo - I won't be making this recipe again - I'll be on the look out for a higher rated rye/pumpernickel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoecr8zy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I used 2 tsp. of yeast rather than 1 1/2 tsp. I slightly increased the caraway seeds and added 1 T. of brown sugar to make the recipe suit my taste. The bread had a great flavor and great texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is a great loaf of bread. Especially good as TV snacks with thin slices of gravlax. I have this one saved on my personal reciope list. I used half the salt, omitted the coffee (did not have any), and used two squares of unsweetened chocolate in place of the cocoa. I melted the chocolate in a microve first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Still comes out great without the milk powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.j.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I love this bread with a cheese fondue! We served it to friends, one of whom insisted she didn't like pumpernickel or rye bread, and, yet, she thought this was fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States