Pumpernickel Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I baked a very dark loaf from another site but it did not rise like I wanted and was rock hard, not impressed but the flavor was good. This recipe was quite close in flavors excepte for caraway seeds and I liked the idea of the warm milk so I tried it. It was superb, great flavor but needs a tablespoon of caraway seeds. Its not as dark as the other, but still had wonderful flavor. My husband does not like rye bread but I made some corned beef and wanted to make ruebens, yum. I will make this one again, that is for sure but again, it needs the caraway seeds to make it scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Awesome taste. I increased the flour to make it into a soft dough that was only slightly sticky when kneading. Also I increased the rise time, 1 hour on the first rise and then another hour after I formed the loaves. After that the bake time was good and then center was done and the outside wasn't hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This bread, in the end, turned out to be very delicious. However, I ended up using almost 2 cups more flour then specified. Also, as many have noted, the cooking time needs to be extended by 15-20 minutes so as to cook the middle fully. Placing foil over the top during these 20 minutes is necessary if you are not spraying the bread with water every 5 minutes or so. The bread also was just too dense for my taste. In the future I will try to use a small amount of baking soda and perhaps that will do the trick. Overall though, I greatly enjoyed making sandwiches with this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The taste was right on, however, I had the same problem with cooking time. My bread ended up getting pitched it was hard after cooking so long. The middle was so uncooked at 25-30 minutes that I had to keep cooking it and the edges got really hard. I have never made this kind of bread. I usually make white bread that turns out great, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with this kind. I'll research for another recipe and keep trying. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Okay, not quite what I am looking for- too light, kindof dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This bread is awesome! Very tasty and chewy. My dad is from New York and says it's very authentic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This recipe is okay, but not good enough for me to make it again. Lacked a bit in flavor and texture. Also, it definitely needs to bake for about 40 minutes, not 25 to 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Hearty and delicious. I would recommend upping the salt to 3 tsps. For a different flavor, try adding onion to the dough for onion pumpernickel bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
good bread, but I add some coffee power, and caraway seeds to it; I like carsway seeds. Will this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
The taste of this bread was very good, and we LOVE dark bread. My complaint with this was the writing of the recipe, which leaves a bit to be desired. 1 1/3 tsp? 2 2/3 TB? Who has those measuring spoons? I found the recipe too wet and had to add quite a bit of extra flour to be able to knead it. It definitely needed to be cooked longer - 40 minutes was still not enough to cook the center. Also, the kneading instructions were a bit vague. Knead 15-20 minutes until...? I used my mixer and only kneaded about 5 minutes. I'm going to play again with this recipe, because, again, the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States