Pumpernickel Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
The taste of this bread was very good, and we LOVE dark bread. My complaint with this was the writing of the recipe, which leaves a bit to be desired. 1 1/3 tsp? 2 2/3 TB? Who has those measuring spoons? I found the recipe too wet and had to add quite a bit of extra flour to be able to knead it. It definitely needed to be cooked longer - 40 minutes was still not enough to cook the center. Also, the kneading instructions were a bit vague. Knead 15-20 minutes until...? I used my mixer and only kneaded about 5 minutes. I'm going to play again with this recipe, because, again, the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I enjoyed this recipe. The ease of preparing, flavor & texture were great. However the 25-30 minute cook time needs to be lengthened, the first two times I tried this recipe the center was not done. 35-45 minutes might do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was my first attempt at homemade bread without a machine. I agree with the previous reviewer, it was good with the reubens, it wasn't as dark as I had hoped, but it was good. I added sesame seeds to the top of the bread before baking. Thanks Clem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This bread was easy to make and turned out beautifully! It did not take as long to make as the recipe said. Everyone loved the flavor. Was great for Reuben sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This bread is awesome! Very tasty and chewy. My dad is from New York and says it's very authentic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Not as dark as I would like, I did it twice and the first time it needed more time to bake and dough ws very dry. After increasing the milk nd raising the tempature of it the product came out fine. good bread just needs some tweeking in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The taste was right on, however, I had the same problem with cooking time. My bread ended up getting pitched it was hard after cooking so long. The middle was so uncooked at 25-30 minutes that I had to keep cooking it and the edges got really hard. I have never made this kind of bread. I usually make white bread that turns out great, I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with this kind. I'll research for another recipe and keep trying. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This recipe is okay, but not good enough for me to make it again. Lacked a bit in flavor and texture. Also, it definitely needs to bake for about 40 minutes, not 25 to 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I have made this bread for friends and family and they all loved it. It is hard to find a pumpernickel bread that appeals to so many different tastes. This is that bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogers City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This bread turned out soft yet light, but I thought it could have been a little more flavorful. Still, I'm not complaining. I liked it, and it's good for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States