Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I was drawn to this recipe because of the cardamom, and I'm writing this with the subtle richness of that spice in my mouth from the recipe's finished product. -- The dough after the dough course in the breadmaker was very sticky. I couldn't handle it without covering my hands in flour often. In the breadmaker, the dough rose so high it was about to pop the top off. -- After cutting the dough into 12 balls and letting it rise again, I had the unfortunate task of figuring out how to deal with softball-size balls of dough. Once risen, they completely filled the 9x13 pan. I tipped the dough out of the pan and rolled them back into 12 balls. Putting six each on two flat cookie sheets, I baked them like that. Out of the oven, I let them cool for a couple of minutes before drizzling the frosting on top. It was all I could do to keep from eating one right then!-- The result was a tenderly sweet bun that wasn't overly spiced but just enough to make them smell delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLS
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is my first time making Hot Cross Buns. I don’t have a bread machine, so I just used my Kitchenaid mixer and let them rise once in the bowl and once in the 9x13 pan. Also, I didn’t have any cardamom so I substituted cinnamon. The next time I make them I’ll make sure I have the cardamom, because these were delicious! For the optional fruit, I used brandy soaked raisins and candied cherries and pineapple. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Hi I loved this recipe. Came out so tender. I will absolutely make this next Easter. Thank you sharing it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made these last night, they were so easy it was amazing. As soon as they were cool enough my son and his friends ate the whole lot and have requested I make more. This time I will make them so that I get a taste before they get home. Fantastic and so easy to make, Thanks for a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good taste. I sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on the dough before baking. Also, I made two large braids instead of buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
We love these Buns, I made them with raisins, currants and peel. They are a big hit, even when I made them with part WW flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I tried this recipe out because i love hot cross buns from the store and wanted to learn how to make my own. Very easy in the bread maker, and a definate keeper! I used 1/2 cup candied fruit, and 1/4 cup golden raisins. Turned out awesome! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This turned out wonderful!! I made a few changes but overall the recipe stayed the same. I made an egg wash with 1 egg yolk and 1 tbsp of cream and brushed the buns just before placing in the oven. I didn't have cardamom so I used nutmeg and cinnamon. Also I would suggest making half of the icing for the crosses cause it was way too much. I also made a syrup of 2 tbsp sugar and 1/3 cup water and a tsp of vanilla extract to brush on the buns as soon as I took them out of the oven. Also, 12 buns couldn't fit in a 13x9 pan, so I placed 8 buns in the pan and the other 4 in a 8 inch cake dish. These buns are soft and delicious and very yummy..it is a great recipe!! My husband has had quite a few and I ate 2 as soon as it came out of the oven. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a very good Recipe I Add 1 Tablespoon Grated Orange Peel with 1 Cup Raisins 1 teaspoons cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoonNutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Lovely texture and flavor. Very nice recipe. Made as written, however I had to add in quite a bit more flour at the kneading stage (I used my KA). I also cut down on the glaze. Some mentioned that it makes more than necessary. I halved it and still had lots left over. I could also see that I was going to get 12 monster rolls, so I formed 16 and baked the extra in an 8x8 pan. They were a perfect size. My add-ins were currants and dried cherries. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States