Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I was drawn to this recipe because of the cardamom, and I'm writing this with the subtle richness of that spice in my mouth from the recipe's finished product. -- The dough after the dough course in the breadmaker was very sticky. I couldn't handle it without covering my hands in flour often. In the breadmaker, the dough rose so high it was about to pop the top off. -- After cutting the dough into 12 balls and letting it rise again, I had the unfortunate task of figuring out how to deal with softball-size balls of dough. Once risen, they completely filled the 9x13 pan. I tipped the dough out of the pan and rolled them back into 12 balls. Putting six each on two flat cookie sheets, I baked them like that. Out of the oven, I let them cool for a couple of minutes before drizzling the frosting on top. It was all I could do to keep from eating one right then!-- The result was a tenderly sweet bun that wasn't overly spiced but just enough to make them smell delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLS
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is my first time making Hot Cross Buns. I don’t have a bread machine, so I just used my Kitchenaid mixer and let them rise once in the bowl and once in the 9x13 pan. Also, I didn’t have any cardamom so I substituted cinnamon. The next time I make them I’ll make sure I have the cardamom, because these were delicious! For the optional fruit, I used brandy soaked raisins and candied cherries and pineapple. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Hi I loved this recipe. Came out so tender. I will absolutely make this next Easter. Thank you sharing it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made these last night, they were so easy it was amazing. As soon as they were cool enough my son and his friends ate the whole lot and have requested I make more. This time I will make them so that I get a taste before they get home. Fantastic and so easy to make, Thanks for a great snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good taste. I sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on the dough before baking. Also, I made two large braids instead of buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
We love these Buns, I made them with raisins, currants and peel. They are a big hit, even when I made them with part WW flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I tried this recipe out because i love hot cross buns from the store and wanted to learn how to make my own. Very easy in the bread maker, and a definate keeper! I used 1/2 cup candied fruit, and 1/4 cup golden raisins. Turned out awesome! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This turned out wonderful!! I made a few changes but overall the recipe stayed the same. I made an egg wash with 1 egg yolk and 1 tbsp of cream and brushed the buns just before placing in the oven. I didn't have cardamom so I used nutmeg and cinnamon. Also I would suggest making half of the icing for the crosses cause it was way too much. I also made a syrup of 2 tbsp sugar and 1/3 cup water and a tsp of vanilla extract to brush on the buns as soon as I took them out of the oven. Also, 12 buns couldn't fit in a 13x9 pan, so I placed 8 buns in the pan and the other 4 in a 8 inch cake dish. These buns are soft and delicious and very yummy..it is a great recipe!! My husband has had quite a few and I ate 2 as soon as it came out of the oven. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a very good Recipe I Add 1 Tablespoon Grated Orange Peel with 1 Cup Raisins 1 teaspoons cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoonNutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Lovely texture and flavor. Very nice recipe. Made as written, however I had to add in quite a bit more flour at the kneading stage (I used my KA). I also cut down on the glaze. Some mentioned that it makes more than necessary. I halved it and still had lots left over. I could also see that I was going to get 12 monster rolls, so I formed 16 and baked the extra in an 8x8 pan. They were a perfect size. My add-ins were currants and dried cherries. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States