Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
served these with tea and hot cxocoa at our annual egg coloring we have for our grandchildren. They were loved by everyone. I subbed the cardamom with cinnamon and nutmeg to cut cost a little as I made 5 batches and will make these a regular part of easter from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These are amazing! I would cut back on the sugar a little bit next time and I also halved the icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These are out of this world! I used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c shortening because I ran out of butter. I also substituted cinnamon for the cardamom b/c I didn't have any. I added normal raisins at the beep. Do not leave out the almond extract in the icing! These are tender, flaky, yummy, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Yummy! Just made these for the first time. I had to toss my first batch, but that was because I didn't follow the order of ingredient for my bread machine. Second batch was much better. The only reason why I did not give it 5 stars was the cardamom wasn't very strong, I think I might try doubling it next time. Love the icing and overall flavor of the bread, though. Was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Easy to make! I don't have a bread machine so I just mixed it together, kneaded it a little, until no longer super sticky, and let it rise in a greased bowl. Punched it down and then followed the rest of the directions. The cardamom (expensive!) was worth it to make it a special taste experience for Easter. Thank you, these will be a new tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Lovely texture and flavor. Very nice recipe. Made as written, however I had to add in quite a bit more flour at the kneading stage (I used my KA). I also cut down on the glaze. Some mentioned that it makes more than necessary. I halved it and still had lots left over. I could also see that I was going to get 12 monster rolls, so I formed 16 and baked the extra in an 8x8 pan. They were a perfect size. My add-ins were currants and dried cherries. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a very good Recipe I Add 1 Tablespoon Grated Orange Peel with 1 Cup Raisins 1 teaspoons cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoonNutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This turned out wonderful!! I made a few changes but overall the recipe stayed the same. I made an egg wash with 1 egg yolk and 1 tbsp of cream and brushed the buns just before placing in the oven. I didn't have cardamom so I used nutmeg and cinnamon. Also I would suggest making half of the icing for the crosses cause it was way too much. I also made a syrup of 2 tbsp sugar and 1/3 cup water and a tsp of vanilla extract to brush on the buns as soon as I took them out of the oven. Also, 12 buns couldn't fit in a 13x9 pan, so I placed 8 buns in the pan and the other 4 in a 8 inch cake dish. These buns are soft and delicious and very yummy..it is a great recipe!! My husband has had quite a few and I ate 2 as soon as it came out of the oven. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I tried this recipe out because i love hot cross buns from the store and wanted to learn how to make my own. Very easy in the bread maker, and a definate keeper! I used 1/2 cup candied fruit, and 1/4 cup golden raisins. Turned out awesome! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
We love these Buns, I made them with raisins, currants and peel. They are a big hit, even when I made them with part WW flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States