Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
WOW! These are amazing... my family and neighbors agree! I used gelatin instead of the egg and I used half white wheat flour and they turned out SO perfect! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Leigh Koehler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this recipe using brown sugar and leaving out the cherries. It was a big hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
served these with tea and hot cxocoa at our annual egg coloring we have for our grandchildren. They were loved by everyone. I subbed the cardamom with cinnamon and nutmeg to cut cost a little as I made 5 batches and will make these a regular part of easter from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These are amazing! I would cut back on the sugar a little bit next time and I also halved the icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJCee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These are out of this world! I used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c shortening because I ran out of butter. I also substituted cinnamon for the cardamom b/c I didn't have any. I added normal raisins at the beep. Do not leave out the almond extract in the icing! These are tender, flaky, yummy, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Yummy! Just made these for the first time. I had to toss my first batch, but that was because I didn't follow the order of ingredient for my bread machine. Second batch was much better. The only reason why I did not give it 5 stars was the cardamom wasn't very strong, I think I might try doubling it next time. Love the icing and overall flavor of the bread, though. Was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Easy to make! I don't have a bread machine so I just mixed it together, kneaded it a little, until no longer super sticky, and let it rise in a greased bowl. Punched it down and then followed the rest of the directions. The cardamom (expensive!) was worth it to make it a special taste experience for Easter. Thank you, these will be a new tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Lovely texture and flavor. Very nice recipe. Made as written, however I had to add in quite a bit more flour at the kneading stage (I used my KA). I also cut down on the glaze. Some mentioned that it makes more than necessary. I halved it and still had lots left over. I could also see that I was going to get 12 monster rolls, so I formed 16 and baked the extra in an 8x8 pan. They were a perfect size. My add-ins were currants and dried cherries. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a very good Recipe I Add 1 Tablespoon Grated Orange Peel with 1 Cup Raisins 1 teaspoons cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoonNutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This turned out wonderful!! I made a few changes but overall the recipe stayed the same. I made an egg wash with 1 egg yolk and 1 tbsp of cream and brushed the buns just before placing in the oven. I didn't have cardamom so I used nutmeg and cinnamon. Also I would suggest making half of the icing for the crosses cause it was way too much. I also made a syrup of 2 tbsp sugar and 1/3 cup water and a tsp of vanilla extract to brush on the buns as soon as I took them out of the oven. Also, 12 buns couldn't fit in a 13x9 pan, so I placed 8 buns in the pan and the other 4 in a 8 inch cake dish. These buns are soft and delicious and very yummy..it is a great recipe!! My husband has had quite a few and I ate 2 as soon as it came out of the oven. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JehanP

Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States