Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were a hit this Easter morning. I liked the flavor and fragrance of the cardamom, and the almond extract in the icing gave it nice flavor. I had a lot of icing left over, so I served it on the side for those that wanted to add more (I'll make maybe only 2/3 of the icing next year). I was searching for a hot cross bun recipe that was similar to ones we used to buy from a local bakery when I was growing up. While these were not the same, they were certainly very good, and I have found a new Easter tradition for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Positively excellent. Made exactly as directed with the exception of icing them.... as they were disappearing from the pan while they were cooling... and finally, I gave up getting after everyone to leave them be. I'd never had any experience with HCB's other than the nursery rhyme. The taste of these remind me slightly of panettone or stollen meet King's Hawaiian Bread. I used golden raisins. The cardamom was a special, special touch and I would not suggest skipping it. I did not find the dough sticky at all... came out nice & smooth and I hacked it apart evenly with my bench scraper. I just can't get over how great these were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is the first time I tried these I was a little nervous as I am not familar working with yeast. I added raisins, and cranberries with a little cinn. and orange peel. They are delicious! added this to my recipes for future. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was my first time for making Hot Cross Buns and they were terrific! I didn't use the bread machine, just kneaded them by hand about 10 times. I also made 18 buns instead of 12 and they were plenty big enough. This will be my Easter standard for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RWC4520
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent, light and flavorful! The recipe actually made 18 LARGE buns for me. I didn't make this in a bread machine, but it worked perfectly well kneading the dough in the stand mixer. I gave them two risings in the bowl, and then shaped them put them in baking dish, and them in the refrigerator overnight. I took them out on Easter morning, gave them their final rise and baked them, so they were warm and delicious! I brushed them with an egg wash before baking so they got a nice shiny golden top. I did find that the glaze recipe made WAY too much. I only used about a third of the glaze (froze the rest for future use). The almond flavor in the glaze was a wonderful complement to the cardamom in the rolls. This is definitely a recipe that I will make again. Might not even wait for Easter. I think this recipe would also make excellent cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were DELICIOUS. My husband loved them so much that I have to make them again after Easter! I didn't have the Cardamom so I used Cinnamon and Nutmeg. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klove radio
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
First time making bread, this recipe is easy and the buns turned out good. I don't have a bread machine, so mixed all the ingredients together, placed the dough in a large bowl over plastic wrap and let it proof a little. I didn't have any ground cardamom, but I used some cinnamon and nutmeg, worked out fine and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Oh. My. Gosh!!! First time ever making hot cross buns and I am not disappointed. They are SO delicious that I won't wait for Easter to roll around to make these again! I didn't have cardamom so I used a little nutmeg and cinnamon. Also used about 75% a/p flour and 25% spelt. Awesome, awesome, AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was a amazing recipe! My mother absolutely loves Hot Cross-Buns! She was amazed that my family member & I made her such beautiful buns! They turned out great, we used everything in the recipe (expect the almond extract because of allergies!) but it was amazing not only how SIMPLE! but easy, I also diced up the fruit to be just like the hot-cross-buns you'd find at the bakery, but these are 100% better, easyer, and CHEAPER to make! My family member told me that he'd make this for his wife more often because of how simple, and easy it was, and it took no time (really it didn't!) I plan on making them for her a little more often! And am very happy to review this with 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States