Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These rolls have an excellent texture and stay moist and soft for days. However, I changed the recipe a bit by using 1 1/2 cups of raisins instead of the cherries and cranberries. I also used 1 cup of sugar and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 of cloves and forego the icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These were so light and fluffy and not overwhelmed with the spices in typical Hot Cross Buns. Instead of vanilla, I used almond extract in the icing. Delicious! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Although this recipe resembled the look of hot cross buns , they in no way tasted like them. I made them twice to make sure that I did make them correct.. I used them for easter for my dinner rolls.. they in no way resemble the hot cross buns that I am used to with the cinnamon , and other spices.. cardamom alone does not give the taste of cinnamon buns...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Sandra, plz understand that hot cross buns and cinnamon buns are 2 entirely different things. These HCB are just fabulous! My first attempt at hot cross buns, tho I've been making bread for years. Don't own a bread machine, used my Kitchenaid to mix. Had to add 1/2 cup more flour as suggested by others, wanted to use currants, but impossible to find this time of year in the SW, so used all golden raisins. Absolutely yummy! Light and fluffy, wonderful flavor, took me back to my childhood in upstate NY, where everybody has hot cross buns for Easter. BTW, got 18 good-size rolls out of it, enough to share with the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
hands down the best hot cross buns i've ever had..."Strong words," my husband said. But even he agreed these were fabulous! Wouldn't change a thing!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I wasn't a big fan of the frosting, although it's easy enough to make. I soaked all of the fruit in spiced rum overnight, but the flavor didn't really come out in the finished product. It did have a Hawaiian sweet bread taste, but overall not a 5-star performance. They seemed a little dry, though I baked them for only 20 minutes and they were perfectly golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe. For sure will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were a hit this Easter morning. I liked the flavor and fragrance of the cardamom, and the almond extract in the icing gave it nice flavor. I had a lot of icing left over, so I served it on the side for those that wanted to add more (I'll make maybe only 2/3 of the icing next year). I was searching for a hot cross bun recipe that was similar to ones we used to buy from a local bakery when I was growing up. While these were not the same, they were certainly very good, and I have found a new Easter tradition for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Positively excellent. Made exactly as directed with the exception of icing them.... as they were disappearing from the pan while they were cooling... and finally, I gave up getting after everyone to leave them be. I'd never had any experience with HCB's other than the nursery rhyme. The taste of these remind me slightly of panettone or stollen meet King's Hawaiian Bread. I used golden raisins. The cardamom was a special, special touch and I would not suggest skipping it. I did not find the dough sticky at all... came out nice & smooth and I hacked it apart evenly with my bench scraper. I just can't get over how great these were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is the first time I tried these I was a little nervous as I am not familar working with yeast. I added raisins, and cranberries with a little cinn. and orange peel. They are delicious! added this to my recipes for future. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States