Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CLS
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is my first time making Hot Cross Buns. I don’t have a bread machine, so I just used my Kitchenaid mixer and let them rise once in the bowl and once in the 9x13 pan. Also, I didn’t have any cardamom so I substituted cinnamon. The next time I make them I’ll make sure I have the cardamom, because these were delicious! For the optional fruit, I used brandy soaked raisins and candied cherries and pineapple. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I was drawn to this recipe because of the cardamom, and I'm writing this with the subtle richness of that spice in my mouth from the recipe's finished product. -- The dough after the dough course in the breadmaker was very sticky. I couldn't handle it without covering my hands in flour often. In the breadmaker, the dough rose so high it was about to pop the top off. -- After cutting the dough into 12 balls and letting it rise again, I had the unfortunate task of figuring out how to deal with softball-size balls of dough. Once risen, they completely filled the 9x13 pan. I tipped the dough out of the pan and rolled them back into 12 balls. Putting six each on two flat cookie sheets, I baked them like that. Out of the oven, I let them cool for a couple of minutes before drizzling the frosting on top. It was all I could do to keep from eating one right then!-- The result was a tenderly sweet bun that wasn't overly spiced but just enough to make them smell delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JehanP
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This turned out wonderful!! I made a few changes but overall the recipe stayed the same. I made an egg wash with 1 egg yolk and 1 tbsp of cream and brushed the buns just before placing in the oven. I didn't have cardamom so I used nutmeg and cinnamon. Also I would suggest making half of the icing for the crosses cause it was way too much. I also made a syrup of 2 tbsp sugar and 1/3 cup water and a tsp of vanilla extract to brush on the buns as soon as I took them out of the oven. Also, 12 buns couldn't fit in a 13x9 pan, so I placed 8 buns in the pan and the other 4 in a 8 inch cake dish. These buns are soft and delicious and very yummy..it is a great recipe!! My husband has had quite a few and I ate 2 as soon as it came out of the oven. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JehanP
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Lovely texture and flavor. Very nice recipe. Made as written, however I had to add in quite a bit more flour at the kneading stage (I used my KA). I also cut down on the glaze. Some mentioned that it makes more than necessary. I halved it and still had lots left over. I could also see that I was going to get 12 monster rolls, so I formed 16 and baked the extra in an 8x8 pan. They were a perfect size. My add-ins were currants and dried cherries. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was a very good Recipe I Add 1 Tablespoon Grated Orange Peel with 1 Cup Raisins 1 teaspoons cinnamon & 1/2 teaspoonNutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
We love these Buns, I made them with raisins, currants and peel. They are a big hit, even when I made them with part WW flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
very good, just bake it and turn out very good. i forgot that i don't have cardamom in hand so i change it to cinnamon . and increase the yeast to 12 gr. for the topping i don't use icing but use honey. turn out very nice and sweet and sticky. 1 recipes turn out for 24x24 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Good taste. I sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on the dough before baking. Also, I made two large braids instead of buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Positively excellent. Made exactly as directed with the exception of icing them.... as they were disappearing from the pan while they were cooling... and finally, I gave up getting after everyone to leave them be. I'd never had any experience with HCB's other than the nursery rhyme. The taste of these remind me slightly of panettone or stollen meet King's Hawaiian Bread. I used golden raisins. The cardamom was a special, special touch and I would not suggest skipping it. I did not find the dough sticky at all... came out nice & smooth and I hacked it apart evenly with my bench scraper. I just can't get over how great these were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Really nice flavor, Came out huge, would make them much smaller cause due to size it was a lot of roll for little frosting. Dried out considerable next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States