Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
These were excellent! I tried out a batch yesterday to see if I wanted to make them for Easter and I will be for sure. I didn't alter the recipe much: I was almost out of white sugar so I used 1/4C white and 1/4C brown sugar. Also, I followed the recipe when I added 1/4C dried cherries, 1/4C golden raisins, 1/4C dried cranberries but also added 1/4C currants. It was my first time using cardamom and I don't think I'd skip this spice or use cinnamon in it's place, they smelled so very good. My whole family loved them ages 5-adult. FYI - The recipe does make a lot and they are dense but oh so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Amazing! These rolls came out beautifully. They made a large batch of rolls so next time I think I will make smaller rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Yummy! Warm, comforting, tender, soft... all I could have hoped for and more from my first attempt at yeast bread. I don't have a bread machine, so I combined everything and kneaded for 8-10 minutes. I used cinnamon instead of cardamom (only had pods), almond milk, zest of one orange and chopped cherry craisins. Topped with strips of pastry, baked at 400 (should have done an egg wash before baking for color) and brushed with warmed honey and orange zest when they came out of the oven. Cannot even imagine how divine these will be with icing. Thank you for a wonderful, easy recipe that even a beginner can prepare well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Awesome recipe (which I made as written). Other Hot Cross Buns I've made have been dense and lacked flavor. These were light and delicious KING-size rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made them as written and they were PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
EVERYONE that had these buns loved them. The cardamom really makes this recipe, so don't skip it or use cinnamon instead. I found the amount of spice to be perfect, but I did add an extra 1/4 cup of sugar in the second batch - to my taste, it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These were similar to Sweet Hawaiin rolls. I thought they should be divided into smaller portions, but the flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
very good, just bake it and turn out very good. i forgot that i don't have cardamom in hand so i change it to cinnamon . and increase the yeast to 12 gr. for the topping i don't use icing but use honey. turn out very nice and sweet and sticky. 1 recipes turn out for 24x24 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
WOW! These are amazing... my family and neighbors agree! I used gelatin instead of the egg and I used half white wheat flour and they turned out SO perfect! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afkoehlers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this recipe using brown sugar and leaving out the cherries. It was a big hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States