Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Melanie S.
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Oh. My. Gosh!!! First time ever making hot cross buns and I am not disappointed. They are SO delicious that I won't wait for Easter to roll around to make these again! I didn't have cardamom so I used a little nutmeg and cinnamon. Also used about 75% a/p flour and 25% spelt. Awesome, awesome, AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was a amazing recipe! My mother absolutely loves Hot Cross-Buns! She was amazed that my family member & I made her such beautiful buns! They turned out great, we used everything in the recipe (expect the almond extract because of allergies!) but it was amazing not only how SIMPLE! but easy, I also diced up the fruit to be just like the hot-cross-buns you'd find at the bakery, but these are 100% better, easyer, and CHEAPER to make! My family member told me that he'd make this for his wife more often because of how simple, and easy it was, and it took no time (really it didn't!) I plan on making them for her a little more often! And am very happy to review this with 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe -- it has never failed me! I usually add more dried fruit -- I like currants, citron, candied cherries, etc. I've used this dough to make cinnamon rolls & they turned out fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was a very sticky dough/ I had to add a ggod bit more flour at the kneading stage. I only used half the cardomom as I like it but husband and daughter do not....needed it very subtle for them. I like that this one does NOT use the usual icky candied/artificially colored fruit stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Jenny
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Light, soft, easy, delicious. Don't leave out the cardamom. It makes them extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tane4ka77
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
It's a lot better than in store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tane4ka77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Really nice flavor, Came out huge, would make them much smaller cause due to size it was a lot of roll for little frosting. Dried out considerable next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These were very easy and very delicious. I like a thicker frosting and put the wet ingredients first into my bread maker. The rest was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Amazingly good! Will become our family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious...and simple. However, my dough did not really double, but I think that was my fault
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States