Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very good! The icing ended up too liquid for me but the little I did put on them before my mom-in-law accidentally threw the rest out was very good. Definitely helps to have a bread machine to do all the mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! The buns where too big and there was too much icing even though I cut the icing proportions in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Unique and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEETIMEVAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These rolls have an excellent texture and stay moist and soft for days. However, I changed the recipe a bit by using 1 1/2 cups of raisins instead of the cherries and cranberries. I also used 1 cup of sugar and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 of cloves and forego the icing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These were so light and fluffy and not overwhelmed with the spices in typical Hot Cross Buns. Instead of vanilla, I used almond extract in the icing. Delicious! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Although this recipe resembled the look of hot cross buns , they in no way tasted like them. I made them twice to make sure that I did make them correct.. I used them for easter for my dinner rolls.. they in no way resemble the hot cross buns that I am used to with the cinnamon , and other spices.. cardamom alone does not give the taste of cinnamon buns...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Sandra, plz understand that hot cross buns and cinnamon buns are 2 entirely different things. These HCB are just fabulous! My first attempt at hot cross buns, tho I've been making bread for years. Don't own a bread machine, used my Kitchenaid to mix. Had to add 1/2 cup more flour as suggested by others, wanted to use currants, but impossible to find this time of year in the SW, so used all golden raisins. Absolutely yummy! Light and fluffy, wonderful flavor, took me back to my childhood in upstate NY, where everybody has hot cross buns for Easter. BTW, got 18 good-size rolls out of it, enough to share with the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
hands down the best hot cross buns i've ever had..."Strong words," my husband said. But even he agreed these were fabulous! Wouldn't change a thing!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I wasn't a big fan of the frosting, although it's easy enough to make. I soaked all of the fruit in spiced rum overnight, but the flavor didn't really come out in the finished product. It did have a Hawaiian sweet bread taste, but overall not a 5-star performance. They seemed a little dry, though I baked them for only 20 minutes and they were perfectly golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe. For sure will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States