Pull-Apart Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
First, no need for a bread machine. I used mine and it didn't mix the ingredients very well. So I took the whole mess out and put it in the Kitchen Aid. Voila! It was a bit sticky, so I did need to add extra flour. Not much though. I let it rise in the bowl for about an hour, then rolled the dough into balls (about 18 medium sized because of what other reviewers warned) and let it rise again before baking. I also sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on top per another suggestion. Out of the oven these were amazing without anything on top! Cooled, I can see why frosting adds a bit as the buns seem to be a bit denser now. Great recipe! I think I'll make them for Easter per their traditional intention, but this first batch is going to work with me so I can announce the bun in my oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Our whole family loved these. A terrific Easter treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this yesterday and couldn't have asked for a better bun. I made some changes but I don't think anything that would have a huge impact on the outcome. I used 1 cup buttermilk (needed to use up) and 1/4 cup 2% milk. Trader Joe's has a Triple Berry mix which has golden raisins, cherries, blueberries and cranberries in it so I used that for my dried fruit. Everything else was as recipe stated. After proofing yeast of which I added a teaspoon or so of sugar I starting adding every ingredient in order on recipe to the bowl (without mixing) until everything was in. Then I gently started mixing, folding, kneading with my hand just until incorporated. I covered bowl with some saran wrap and let it rest for about 5 or 10 minutes. I sprayed a 9 X 13 baking pan with cooking spray and dropped by heaping spoonfuls 4 across and 6 down to make a total of 24 buns. At this point I put on disposable plastic gloves then sprayed one hand with cooking spray, rubbed them together and then picked up each piece of dough and formed it into a ball returning back to the pan. This really helped as the dough is very sticky and hard to work with. Covered with saran wrap and let rise. Baked for 25 minutes (my oven took that amount of time to brown). After cooled I made the icing and spooned it all over the top like cinnamon rolls instead of making crosses. Was loved by everyone at our family Easter dinner. Even my husband who I thought would not like due to the cardamom enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Delicious. I love the pop the cranberries give to these buns. These make huge buns; if you want smaller, make 24 buns--12 were huge. Worked, but huge. I went to make the frosting and learned I had no confectioner's sugar, so I just used some leftover frosting I had in the fridge with pecans. Not exactly the same, but delicious. I love the cardamom in this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This recipe makes for bland buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Had a hard time working with this dough it's very moist and hard to handle, but the end product turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
These were wonderful,better than store bought, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very good! The icing ended up too liquid for me but the little I did put on them before my mom-in-law accidentally threw the rest out was very good. Definitely helps to have a bread machine to do all the mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Delicious! The buns where too big and there was too much icing even though I cut the icing proportions in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Unique and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEETIMEVAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States