Puffed Cauliflower Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was really quite good. I would give it 4 1/2 stars if I could. It wasn't over the top, but it has the potential to be so. It's not difficult at all. Just a couple of minutes more than making a simple cheese sauce would have taken. I had frozen cauliflower that I was looking for a new way to prepare, and although fresh would probably have been tastier, frozen worked just fine. I just let it thaw and drain in a colander and skipped the blanching process. I did soften some minced shallots in the butter before adding the flour, used garlic seasoned bread crumbs, threw in a slice of pepper jack cheese along with the cheddar, and topped with cheddar flavored french fried onions. I wouldn't mess with the original recipe too much, but the next time (and I will make this again---even hubby liked it) I plan to add a little bacon. Probably some store-bought bacon bits in a jar. After all, I don't know anything that isn't better with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was really good. Used half broccoli, half cauliflower. Added an extra 1/4C cheese. Also added one chopped shallot, which really made a good flavor difference. Next time I think I may add either diced ham or bacon, as the flavors would really compliment it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
My husband and daughters loved this, and it's really simple to make too! It does take a bit of preperation but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was delicious! I thought it had a great taste. Not too bland at all. I did add a little garlic salt, but other than that I felt the recipe was great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years and my family likes it alot. Its not an over flavored dish. But if you enjoy califlower, you should enjoy this dish. I usually serve it when we have guests and usually with steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Well, it's not something to just whip up when you're in a hurry...but it sure is worth the effort when you have the time! I've made this twice, now - once as written and once with half cauliflower and half broccoli. Both were great, but I think I liked the half-and-half even better. I served it with lamb-stuffed bell peppers last night (cooked them at the same time at 375 degrees, adding 5 minutes to the recipe time) and received raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
We really enjoyed this dish. My son ate almost the entire pan by himself. I didn't have cheddar in the house, so I used pepper jack instead. I'm planning to double the recipe and make a larger batch to take to a post-Thanksgiving family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
A little bland. I think I will saute some onions next time and add them. Other than that, turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
great recipe easy to make--but it still tastes like cauliflower doesn't it! oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I've made this twice in one week now, so you can probably tell I liked this! I didn't find it took long to make; my tip -use a processor to grate the cheese or buy ready grated to save time, and an electric whisk for the egg whites. The only changes I made were to add a pinch of mustard powder and garlic powder to the sauce, that's all. I've made cauliflower cheese MANY times before and I liked the texture of this one a lot more than any others. I have young kids and they all finished their's without a fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States