Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used a cheese grater to "grate" the butter over the flour. It made for quick work in combining the ingredients. I used reduced fat sour cream and 3/4 cup butter. Resulting dough still baked out beautiful and flakey. Thanks for this easy and terrific recipe, Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very rich! This made a wonderful pastry for our apple turnovers. I used 100% whole wheat pastry flour for them and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. It was easy to make. I only had it in the fridge a few hours but still tasted delicious. This will be my only pastry recipe from now on, so light and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
i have done this recipe for about 5 times and the only thing i did different was add about another cup of flour and rolled it 1/2 in. thick, perfect for my apple turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Didn't have time to freeze it over night so just put it in the freezer for about 40 minutes. came out great. Really nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsaggio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
THANK YOU... THANK YOU... THANK YOU!!! I had been making this pastry dough for years, until I lost the recipe. I called it "1 2 3 Puffed Pastry" because I always doubled the recipe for my LARGE extended family, for the holidays. I remembered the amounts "1 2 3" but my mind kept telling me I used cream cheese. When I found this recipe the light went on...LOL I used SOUR CREAM... not cream cheese...DUH! Roll the dough out thin (1/8" to 1/4") cut out 2-1/2" rounds of dough. Place a scant teaspoonful of Solo brand fruit, nut, or poppy seed filling down the center. Fold the sides up and over the filling, overlapping the dough and pinching together to keep the dough from unfolding during baking. Bake on parchment lined cookie sheets, in a 375 degree oven, 12 to 15 mins or until light golden brown. When baked, cool completely on wire rack and dust with powdered sugar. Since there is no sugar in the dough you can even use savory fillings of cheeses, vegetables or meats, for great appetizers. I can't THANK YOU enough, Patti. My family will be delighted, that I can make one of their favorites once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
so happy with this recipe, i made spinach & cheese triangles and used gluten free flour and it still turned out buttery and puffy and delicious! thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psarahpickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is SO easy to make and so good to work with - I didn't need any flour at all when rolling it, I jut rolled it on some non-stick paper. After reading that it could go a little too hard when left in the fridge, I decided to put it in the coldest part of the house instead, and that worked just fine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent! This recipe is soo easy, the kitchenaid mixer did it all and I only chilled it in the freezer for 10 min before rolling - it puffed up well and was tender and flaky - better than the store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I am Dutch and in Holland we use a lot of puff pastry and this is great. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States