Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used a cheese grater to "grate" the butter over the flour. It made for quick work in combining the ingredients. I used reduced fat sour cream and 3/4 cup butter. Resulting dough still baked out beautiful and flakey. Thanks for this easy and terrific recipe, Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. It was easy to make. I only had it in the fridge a few hours but still tasted delicious. This will be my only pastry recipe from now on, so light and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I was very glad to find a recipe for puff pastry that didn't call for shortening. However, I couldn't bring myself to use that much butter, either. I halved the butter and it still came out quite flaky and tender--maybe a little stickier than I would have liked when I was rolling it, but I'll take that trade-off for the extra stick of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was a great recipe. I loved the fact that it called for things I had on hand. Make sure you roll it very thin to get good results! If it's too thick it will resemble a dumpling, and you don't want that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is a great recipe. I've tried different recipe for puff pastry but this is the most successful one I ever had.Just follow the directions. Make sure you put some flour on the counter before you roll so it won't stick and also over the dough. It may be hard once it came out from the fridge but please be patient because once you started rolling it, it becomes more softer after. Sprinkle flour often on top so the dough won't stick to the roller. I usually bake it at 350 F and the result is just amazing. My friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Was so easy to make, my only complaint is that after the night in the fridge it was like a rock. It needed to come to room temp for me to be able to roll it out for use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Buttery, crusty and browns nicely. I didn't have time to refrigerate it over night, so I stuck it in the freezer for about 20 minutes then refrigerated it for about another 15 minutes and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I was surprised by this recipe. I thought it would be more complicated to make puff pastry! I was a bit disappointed with the fact that it didn't bake up as high as I had anticipated but to be fair, after I made the dough, I left it in the fridge for 4 days instead of the one day it calls for...talk about getting sidetracked! Anyway, it was still good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This recipe was OK, but it would have been nice if it had included cooking time/temp. My recipe called for a pre-baked shell so I had to guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is so easy, and great because I don't like to use store-bought puff pastry because of the trans fats. I used this dough to line muffin cups and baked them filled with lemon custard. Next I'll try pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States