Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is insanely good! My husband wanted some apple turnovers, and typically I run to the store and buy frozen puff pastry dough, but thought I would try to make puff pastries from scratch. After searching for puff pastry recipes that seemed awfully complicated, I ran across this one and gave it a try...worked like a champ! Buttery, tender - absolutely perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
A very simple, quick and wonderful recipe! I used whole grain flour and only 3/4 of the butter amount, I added one tablespoon of apple vinegar, and I left it in the refrigerator for only about 2 hours. The pastry still came out wonderfully flaky and light! I had wrapped it around salmon fillets and broccoli, served it with a dill sauce, and I got many compliments. You just have to leave those little butter pieces "as are" while you roll out the dough. Rolling out may be tricky at first (maybe it's better to shape the dough into a thick sheet instead of a ball before you put it into the refrigerator), but just keep rolling, and everything will turn out just fine. And never knead the dough, just put the rests of rolled out and cut dough into layers and roll it out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very rich! This made a wonderful pastry for our apple turnovers. I used 100% whole wheat pastry flour for them and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I am Dutch and in Holland we use a lot of puff pastry and this is great. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent! This recipe is soo easy, the kitchenaid mixer did it all and I only chilled it in the freezer for 10 min before rolling - it puffed up well and was tender and flaky - better than the store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is SO easy to make and so good to work with - I didn't need any flour at all when rolling it, I jut rolled it on some non-stick paper. After reading that it could go a little too hard when left in the fridge, I decided to put it in the coldest part of the house instead, and that worked just fine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
so happy with this recipe, i made spinach & cheese triangles and used gluten free flour and it still turned out buttery and puffy and delicious! thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psarahpickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
THANK YOU... THANK YOU... THANK YOU!!! I had been making this pastry dough for years, until I lost the recipe. I called it "1 2 3 Puffed Pastry" because I always doubled the recipe for my LARGE extended family, for the holidays. I remembered the amounts "1 2 3" but my mind kept telling me I used cream cheese. When I found this recipe the light went on...LOL I used SOUR CREAM... not cream cheese...DUH! Roll the dough out thin (1/8" to 1/4") cut out 2-1/2" rounds of dough. Place a scant teaspoonful of Solo brand fruit, nut, or poppy seed filling down the center. Fold the sides up and over the filling, overlapping the dough and pinching together to keep the dough from unfolding during baking. Bake on parchment lined cookie sheets, in a 375 degree oven, 12 to 15 mins or until light golden brown. When baked, cool completely on wire rack and dust with powdered sugar. Since there is no sugar in the dough you can even use savory fillings of cheeses, vegetables or meats, for great appetizers. I can't THANK YOU enough, Patti. My family will be delighted, that I can make one of their favorites once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Didn't have time to freeze it over night so just put it in the freezer for about 40 minutes. came out great. Really nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsaggio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
i have done this recipe for about 5 times and the only thing i did different was add about another cup of flour and rolled it 1/2 in. thick, perfect for my apple turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States