Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Wow! I am surprised at how good the end result for this recipe is. I have to say though, I was one of those people who had trouble with sticky dough. I kept thinking to myself, "The end result better be worth all this trouble!" and I'm going to tell you, it sure is! I didn't get time to make this yesterday so I made it this morning and left it in the fridge for a few hours and then stuck it in the freezer for about an hour before I used it. I also chilled a piece of wax paper to roll out the dough between, needless to say - it still got sticky real fast and I used this dough straight out of the freezer. I didn't add any extra flour while rolling it out - so I just may try a sprinkle of flour between wax paper next time. I used this to make Apple Strudel, it was buttery, flaky, delicious. I am definitely making this again - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is insanely good! My husband wanted some apple turnovers, and typically I run to the store and buy frozen puff pastry dough, but thought I would try to make puff pastries from scratch. After searching for puff pastry recipes that seemed awfully complicated, I ran across this one and gave it a try...worked like a champ! Buttery, tender - absolutely perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
A very simple, quick and wonderful recipe! I used whole grain flour and only 3/4 of the butter amount, I added one tablespoon of apple vinegar, and I left it in the refrigerator for only about 2 hours. The pastry still came out wonderfully flaky and light! I had wrapped it around salmon fillets and broccoli, served it with a dill sauce, and I got many compliments. You just have to leave those little butter pieces "as are" while you roll out the dough. Rolling out may be tricky at first (maybe it's better to shape the dough into a thick sheet instead of a ball before you put it into the refrigerator), but just keep rolling, and everything will turn out just fine. And never knead the dough, just put the rests of rolled out and cut dough into layers and roll it out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very rich! This made a wonderful pastry for our apple turnovers. I used 100% whole wheat pastry flour for them and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I am Dutch and in Holland we use a lot of puff pastry and this is great. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent! This recipe is soo easy, the kitchenaid mixer did it all and I only chilled it in the freezer for 10 min before rolling - it puffed up well and was tender and flaky - better than the store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is SO easy to make and so good to work with - I didn't need any flour at all when rolling it, I jut rolled it on some non-stick paper. After reading that it could go a little too hard when left in the fridge, I decided to put it in the coldest part of the house instead, and that worked just fine. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
so happy with this recipe, i made spinach & cheese triangles and used gluten free flour and it still turned out buttery and puffy and delicious! thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psarahpickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
THANK YOU... THANK YOU... THANK YOU!!! I had been making this pastry dough for years, until I lost the recipe. I called it "1 2 3 Puffed Pastry" because I always doubled the recipe for my LARGE extended family, for the holidays. I remembered the amounts "1 2 3" but my mind kept telling me I used cream cheese. When I found this recipe the light went on...LOL I used SOUR CREAM... not cream cheese...DUH! Roll the dough out thin (1/8" to 1/4") cut out 2-1/2" rounds of dough. Place a scant teaspoonful of Solo brand fruit, nut, or poppy seed filling down the center. Fold the sides up and over the filling, overlapping the dough and pinching together to keep the dough from unfolding during baking. Bake on parchment lined cookie sheets, in a 375 degree oven, 12 to 15 mins or until light golden brown. When baked, cool completely on wire rack and dust with powdered sugar. Since there is no sugar in the dough you can even use savory fillings of cheeses, vegetables or meats, for great appetizers. I can't THANK YOU enough, Patti. My family will be delighted, that I can make one of their favorites once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Didn't have time to freeze it over night so just put it in the freezer for about 40 minutes. came out great. Really nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsaggio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States