Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this pastry because I wanted to make apple turnovers. While this dough is delicious, it is NOT puff pastry. It is just like pie crust. I ended up having mini apple pies. I followed all directions, but the dough just does not fluff up and become nice and flaky like the puff pastry you would find in the freezer section. It is dense just like a regular pie crust. I'm still searching for a nice puffy, flaky recipe. But this one is still yummy, just not what I call puff pastry. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I didn't follow the directions and accidentally mixed all the ingredients in a bowl at once. It didn't matter--it came out perfectly! I baked them as mini tart shells in a mini muffin pan at 400 degrees for 7 minutes and filled them with sauteed mushrooms, scallions, garlic salt, extra virgin olive oil and a splash of red wine sherry. Topped with goat cheese. It was amazing. And the pastry shells taste great on their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Easy, easy, easy! And tasty! I divided the dough so that I could use some now and then freeze the rest for later. I didn't refrigerate the "now" dough and it turned out pretty good; really tender before and after baking. I rolled, cut with a cookie cutter, baked, and then sprinkled with ample powder sugar when they came out of the oven. We ate them as cookies :o) We're thinking of using this as a pot pie crust (sweet and savory pies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I took the suggestion from a previous reviewer and did 20min in freezer then 15 in fridge. I used this recipe to make my version of a hot pocket- using the recipe for barbeque pulled pork and making a puff shell to contain it. OH..MY... WOW!!! It was insanely delicious!! Thanks so much for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
WOW - this puff pastry is delicious and SUPER easy to make! I just rolled some jam in them and baked at 375 for 10-15min. Make sure you actually roll out the dough to a max of 1/8th of an inch! Any thicker and the dough doesn't flake up and stays a little too moist. If you follow the recipe and directions properly - this stuff is PERFECT! I can't wait to try it with a savory filling next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I've never made puff pastry before and I thought it would be good for turnovers. It was really easy to make but next time I think I'll use my kitchen aid like someone else suggested. I also just put it in the freezer for 20 mins and refrigerator for 15 mins and it seemed like it worked. The only problem I had was the first time I rolled it out it stuck to the table like glue. I had put flour down but apparently not enough. I scooped up as much as I could and put a THICK layer flour and used it on top and it worked really good. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclarkson09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Fantastic!!! I used it to make blueberry turnovers and sprinkled the tops with demerara and chopped crystalized ginger (thinking, "Well, if these puff up, it'll be a miracle.") Sure enough, they not only PUFFed beautifully but, they retained the puff when cooled. I'll never buy store bought again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Wonderful! It has been two years now that I have saved this PERFECT recipe in my box here at allrecipes. and its the ONLY one I come back to - every time - it hands down beat my own puff pastry recipe that was HOURS of work :) - I should note too that I always experiment - so i've added different herbs to this depending on my pastrys ulitmate use .... a bit of sugar if its sweet destined and well you get the idea :) Really phaylock, thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Amazingly easy and delicious. Couldn't ask for a simpler recipe with such great results. Perfect for savory and sweet. Don't even need to add sugar for sweet fillings. I have carpel tunnel in both wrists and easy delicious recipes, that are quick, are hard to come by. This recipe works great, its delicious, and easy on the wrists. Thank you so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterbean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
this is the best, easiest pastry! I have been trying to find the BEST pastry for the Piroshki I make for Christmas each year. then THIS!!!!!!added chilled water to make it come together- tripled the recipe to make Piroshki, had some leftover and kept chilled - Chicken Breast in pastry (modified from this site) tonight. and the jams I got for christmas, mini tarts from the dough! with fresh fruits.......wish I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Saylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States