Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very, very good and simple to prepare. The dish looks quite elegant, too. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding feta which was a nice, tangy choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
my family loved it!!! my partner and i rolled the pastry and only used pesto and the fish (we try cutting on salt and oil). in addition, i paper dried the fish, and brushed the puff pastry with whisked egg. the fish was thoroughly baked after only 20 minuutes with a golden crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Wasn't all that impressed. I took the suggestion of the other reviewers & rolled out the pastry. The salmon still seemed too thick. I'm not sure if it was from the fish or the pesto oil, but the bottom of the roll absorbed the liquid making the bottom soggy & both me & my boyfriend were majorly sick the next day after eating this. Maybe it was just too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
tasty tasty, it makes quite a bit though, and it helps A LOT to roll out the pasty dough. I tried this without rolling it and it would not stay together. Also, I added some mushrooms that I had sauteed in red wine before hand, and it went very nicely with the other flavors in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I made my own puff pastry from the puff pastry recipe on this site. Since I didn't have any onion or garlic powder, I skipped it. I didn't need it! I added about a teaspoon of cream cheese to the top and cooked it for about 35 min on 400F. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Rave reviews from the husband, the 20 year old son, and a neighbor who just happened to stop by for dinner! Per another's suggestion, I used frozen spinach as I didn't have fresh - worked just fine! Easy and oh so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I prepared this for dinner for my family and a couple of guests and there was not a crumb left. This dish was a winner in my house. I look forward to making it again. Next time, I think I'm going to try to add a bit of feta cheese, as another review suggested, and see how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was very rich treat, a little heavy for a salmon dish. Next time I will use less puff pastry and pesto with larger pieces of salmon. Great flavor combination, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
We loved this tasty twist to salmon. After baking for 30 min, it still was not browned so I broiled it for 3 minutes to make it golden and toasted! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was fun to assemble. We combined the two sheets and two lumps into one larger "log." It was tasty and got high marks from the 6 of us (my cooking club). Definitely cut down on the spinach and choose your pesto wisely. Most liked the sun-dried tomato pesto, but I'll use lemon pesto next time... Tossed in some feta and it was good! :) Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States