Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Simply Excellent!! I followed the recipe to a "T"- except that I put an Egg Beaters wash on top of the pastry for flakiness, salt and fresh-ground pepper on top of that and then I put the 2 pastries on parchment paper on a cookie sheet. This recipe was so simple but had a restaurant-quality taste and appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I am incredibly disapointed in this recipe. I followed it exactly except for using well wrung thawed frozen spinach and brushing some egg wash to the bottom of the dough before adding rest of ingredients to avoid sogginess. It worked perfectly, and the bottom was nice and crispy. but the whole thing still came out completely flavourless :( unfortunately. My kids and I had an extremely hard time finishing our plates. I hate waste, so I ended up opening the dough to uncover the fish and dolopped some tartar sauce over it and recovered it with the dough. Thankfully, we were able to eat the rest of our plates that way. It was actually pretty good that way. However, the next day this doesn't work for the leftovers. I love the idea, but in reality, it needed so much MORE to work. sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My husband and I made this for Valentines dinner, it was fun putting it together. I knew it would be a lot from reading the other reviews so we saved half for lunch the next day. The only thing I did differently was to add crumbled feta to the spinach. It took about 40 minutes to bake and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Dufor's puff pastry is only 14 oz. I couldn't get all the spinache stuffed inside and the seam ripped apart while cooking. Buy more pastry or decrease the salmon. Roll the pastry wide and not long so the seam will be well covered. Kid's thought it needed more taste. I think the pesto used is important. (mine was walnuts, basil, olive, oil, garlic, parmesian but no salt. My 12 yr old said it needs more kick like feta, parmesian. or mint leaves in the pesto. Some bites were tastier than others. If the salmon was slice thin and more pesto added between the slices that would make for more consistency in taste per bite. No soggy bottom if you pat dry salmon and spinache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
T Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe was just okay, not as flavorful I as like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
As a fan of beef wellington I just loved this idea! Changes were: I used 5 good sized salmon fillets placed them onto one sheet of puff pastry piled on the feta cheese, the powders as mentioned, and LOTS of fresh spinach then placed the second patry sheet on top of the fillets, stretched it out a bit and sealed it with the tines of a fork with the bottom pastry sheet. Moving it onto the baking sheet and off takes some doing this way, but it saves on the calories. Cook this on a cooling rack placed on baking sheet, otherwise the bottom may get soggy. This recipe is SO simple and EVERY person I have served this to loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryef27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Apart from topping the salmon with some finely diced fresh mushrooms, I made this as written, and it turned out pretty well. If I were to make it again, I would roll out the pastry - it was a bit too much for the piece of fish I used. Oh, and definitely cook it on a rack - this avoids the soggy bottom that other reviewers complained about. Not bad though. Thanks, danigirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The bottom is soggy. That is the biggest flaw of this recipe. I'm not quite sure how to fix it, either. I used fresh spinach and followed the recipe to a "T." I figure since any protein I cook on a cookie sheet has liquid underneath it when cooked through, I shouldn't be surprised that the pastry was soggy on the bottom. I would make this again if I had a cure for the "soggy bottom."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Used the central market pesto. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States