Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My family loved this--even the three kids! Thaw the pastry for 45 min. to an hour at room temp. I used frozen spinach, a 9-oz. box, but I cooked it in the microwave and squeezed all the water out. Instead of salt and garlic powder, I used garlic salt. I also brushed a little egg-beaters on the top (not sure if that was needed, but it looked golden brown when done). I had to cook it about 15 min. extra to get the golden brown color, so allow enough time. I was concerned that the salmon would be overcooked, but it was still moist and flaky. This recipe makes more than what it says, at least enough for 8 - 10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMTRINA
Home Town: Ripley, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I'm hunting around for an elegant, simple fish dish for a dinner's main course. Even though I anticipated some issues with this, I tried a half-batch exactly as written, and I had several problems: 1) It was really, REALLY bland; and 2) like other reviewers, I ended up with soggy-bottom salmon. I tweaked my second attempt quite a bit, with great results: Instead of using fresh spinach (which has a really high moisture content), I used very-well-drained frozen spinach. To give the spinach some needed flavor, I sauteed a mixture of finely-chopped mushrooms, garlic, shallots, nutmeg, butter, and salt for about 10 minutes, then added the spinach and sauteed for another 10-15 minutes to cook off as much moisture as possible (I hate to crash a recipe and rewrite it in the comments, but this seriously needed a flavor boost). I also removed the finished product to a rack to cool, which helped alleviate the sog factor. I'd say this dish is a good launching pad to add flavors that suit you - just do whatever you can to reduce the amount of moisture inside the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Oh my gosh-this was the BEST way to serve salmon and it makes a ton. Just be sure to follow the thawing directions for the puff pastry exactly on the box for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Delicious. My boyfriend and I made this for dinner last night and both loved it. The only change we made was to add a bit of freshly grated parm cheese to the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Okay, it doesn't specify but the spinach should definately be FRESH! If the dough is too thick, then roll it out a little before placing the ingredients inside. That way you can fit more ingredients inside too! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Very TASTY! Made a few adjustments, used 1/2 tsp of garlic salt instead of powder/salt. Added feta cheese and sun dried tomatoes. Also did an egg wash (1 egg & 1 tsp of milk, wisk and brush on pastry) Just heavenly, hubby and 2 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We didn't care for this recipe. I think the concept is great, but the pesto seemed to ruin the salmon for us. I may try this again, but not with salmon or pesto maybe with chicken and swiss cheese and prosciutto. -I would rather barbecue my salmon with a little EVOO, Sesame oil, sea salt and lemon pepper then ruin it with pesto. I followed the recipe and cooked it 15 minutes longer then the recipe calls for and the pastry still was not fully cooked and I used the suggestions of others and rolled it out to be a little thinner. Not sure why it didn't cook all the way through. It looked done on the outside and everything else was done, but the pastry was not. Sorry for the bad review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
SOOO GOOD! I used Mediterranean feta cheese instead of pesto. So good, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Walter Jones
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Hubbie says four and a half stars because it was "too simple". I give it SIX stars BECAUSE it was so simple! Would not change a thing. Great recipe! Quick. I brushed egg on the top of the pastry to make it a little more attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My husband and I made this for Valentines dinner, it was fun putting it together. I knew it would be a lot from reading the other reviews so we saved half for lunch the next day. The only thing I did differently was to add crumbled feta to the spinach. It took about 40 minutes to bake and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States