Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe was just okay, not as flavorful I as like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
As a fan of beef wellington I just loved this idea! Changes were: I used 5 good sized salmon fillets placed them onto one sheet of puff pastry piled on the feta cheese, the powders as mentioned, and LOTS of fresh spinach then placed the second patry sheet on top of the fillets, stretched it out a bit and sealed it with the tines of a fork with the bottom pastry sheet. Moving it onto the baking sheet and off takes some doing this way, but it saves on the calories. Cook this on a cooling rack placed on baking sheet, otherwise the bottom may get soggy. This recipe is SO simple and EVERY person I have served this to loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryef27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Apart from topping the salmon with some finely diced fresh mushrooms, I made this as written, and it turned out pretty well. If I were to make it again, I would roll out the pastry - it was a bit too much for the piece of fish I used. Oh, and definitely cook it on a rack - this avoids the soggy bottom that other reviewers complained about. Not bad though. Thanks, danigirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The bottom is soggy. That is the biggest flaw of this recipe. I'm not quite sure how to fix it, either. I used fresh spinach and followed the recipe to a "T." I figure since any protein I cook on a cookie sheet has liquid underneath it when cooked through, I shouldn't be surprised that the pastry was soggy on the bottom. I would make this again if I had a cure for the "soggy bottom."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Used the central market pesto. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made a version of this. Let me just say the puff pastry is quite nice around the salmon, but a warning: it doesn't make for a good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is a great salmon recipe!!! Huge success at my house. I used sliced almonds instead of pine nuts in the pesto due to $$$ and I think it turned out even better. If your not a fish fan but love pesto, try this one out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I've been wanting to make this recipe for a while and I'm so glad I did! This was so easy and so great. I didn't make any changes. I'm giving it 4 stars, though, because this dish was pretty unhealthy compared to what I usually cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I love this recipe! followed directions to sqeeze out all water. Left in a little longer to make crispy, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
These were great! Rolled out the puff pastry on a floured surface and had no trouble getting it to cook up. I didn't have pesto so I made a garlic and herb blend sauce to use in its place and it was great. I think this recipe could be very versatile. My family really enjoyed this and we'll be trying it again with the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States