Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This recipe was very Yummy! I followed another readers advice an did an eggwash which made the pastry very pretty. The only thing I will change next time is maybe add some parmesan cheese. This recipe would also be good with chicken and pine nuts, pesto, and gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I have made this recipe quite a few times and have received rave reviews each time. A great recipe to impress guests! I use atlantic salmon flash frozen from Sam's Club and canned pesto. I follow the recipe exactly, but add a bit of feta for an extra level of flavor. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I'm hunting around for an elegant, simple fish dish for a dinner's main course. Even though I anticipated some issues with this, I tried a half-batch exactly as written, and I had several problems: 1) It was really, REALLY bland; and 2) like other reviewers, I ended up with soggy-bottom salmon. I tweaked my second attempt quite a bit, with great results: Instead of using fresh spinach (which has a really high moisture content), I used very-well-drained frozen spinach. To give the spinach some needed flavor, I sauteed a mixture of finely-chopped mushrooms, garlic, shallots, nutmeg, butter, and salt for about 10 minutes, then added the spinach and sauteed for another 10-15 minutes to cook off as much moisture as possible (I hate to crash a recipe and rewrite it in the comments, but this seriously needed a flavor boost). I also removed the finished product to a rack to cool, which helped alleviate the sog factor. I'd say this dish is a good launching pad to add flavors that suit you - just do whatever you can to reduce the amount of moisture inside the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Super easy, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
great, impressive dish for dinner parties. Served with wild rice, salad, and good white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was so delicious and so easy. I tasted like it required a lot more effort than it did. I'm not crazy about salmon, but my husband loves it, so I've been looking for good salmon recipe for ages and I finally found it! Thanks for this jem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Another favorite at our house and so easy to make! My kids can't eat cow dairy, so the pesto is out for their versions. Instead, I just add soft goat cheese. I use fresh spinach and also add chopped mushrooms to the recipe to sneak some more veggies in everyone's diets--don't tell! Really, really yummy and my 3 year old asks for the "bread and salmon" often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made this for a couple picky eaters- everyone raved!! Made mine a little smaller and it was perfect for personal portion sizes. VERY rich but VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent! Easy to assemble and looks beautiful! So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was delicious. I ended up cutting a 14 oz salmon fillet into thirds, and I was able to completely wrap them w/2 sheets of pastry puff. Next time I will roll the dough out so I can get more out of it. I used fresh chopped spinach and Classico pesto. My husband really enjoyed this dish and ate his entire serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States