Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
great, impressive dish for dinner parties. Served with wild rice, salad, and good white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This was so delicious and so easy. I tasted like it required a lot more effort than it did. I'm not crazy about salmon, but my husband loves it, so I've been looking for good salmon recipe for ages and I finally found it! Thanks for this jem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Another favorite at our house and so easy to make! My kids can't eat cow dairy, so the pesto is out for their versions. Instead, I just add soft goat cheese. I use fresh spinach and also add chopped mushrooms to the recipe to sneak some more veggies in everyone's diets--don't tell! Really, really yummy and my 3 year old asks for the "bread and salmon" often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Made this for a couple picky eaters- everyone raved!! Made mine a little smaller and it was perfect for personal portion sizes. VERY rich but VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Excellent! Easy to assemble and looks beautiful! So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was delicious. I ended up cutting a 14 oz salmon fillet into thirds, and I was able to completely wrap them w/2 sheets of pastry puff. Next time I will roll the dough out so I can get more out of it. I used fresh chopped spinach and Classico pesto. My husband really enjoyed this dish and ate his entire serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Simply Excellent!! I followed the recipe to a "T"- except that I put an Egg Beaters wash on top of the pastry for flakiness, salt and fresh-ground pepper on top of that and then I put the 2 pastries on parchment paper on a cookie sheet. This recipe was so simple but had a restaurant-quality taste and appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I am incredibly disapointed in this recipe. I followed it exactly except for using well wrung thawed frozen spinach and brushing some egg wash to the bottom of the dough before adding rest of ingredients to avoid sogginess. It worked perfectly, and the bottom was nice and crispy. but the whole thing still came out completely flavourless :( unfortunately. My kids and I had an extremely hard time finishing our plates. I hate waste, so I ended up opening the dough to uncover the fish and dolopped some tartar sauce over it and recovered it with the dough. Thankfully, we were able to eat the rest of our plates that way. It was actually pretty good that way. However, the next day this doesn't work for the leftovers. I love the idea, but in reality, it needed so much MORE to work. sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
My husband and I made this for Valentines dinner, it was fun putting it together. I knew it would be a lot from reading the other reviews so we saved half for lunch the next day. The only thing I did differently was to add crumbled feta to the spinach. It took about 40 minutes to bake and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Dufor's puff pastry is only 14 oz. I couldn't get all the spinache stuffed inside and the seam ripped apart while cooking. Buy more pastry or decrease the salmon. Roll the pastry wide and not long so the seam will be well covered. Kid's thought it needed more taste. I think the pesto used is important. (mine was walnuts, basil, olive, oil, garlic, parmesian but no salt. My 12 yr old said it needs more kick like feta, parmesian. or mint leaves in the pesto. Some bites were tastier than others. If the salmon was slice thin and more pesto added between the slices that would make for more consistency in taste per bite. No soggy bottom if you pat dry salmon and spinache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States