Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Really good recipe but it came out VERY crispy, is it supposed to be that way. I thought it might be used for croissants but it can't. Did I do sth wrong or is it supposed to be that way and that flaky. It's almost like Filo/Phyllo pastry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I expected something completely different, the end product did not look like any danish or puff pastry I have seen in pictures or bakeries. With that being said, I did learn the rolling technique, which is fun if you get a good rhythm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This recipe is a lot more forgiving than you may think. I was ecstatic when my pastry puffed! Because I absolutely refuse to buy pre-made, who knows what they put in that stuff! I did add 6 tbs of the butter to the dough, and put the rest in the middle. The amount of butter used doesn't have to be exact either. Great recipe for beginner pastry makers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was an excellent recipe! I cut the dough and laid the pieces between wax paper when finished and froze. My only regret was making only a half batch and thawing the dough daily. (this is too good) resulting in three days of pastry breakfast and desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe worked great for me. At first I didn't know if it would turn out because I can be a very impatient baker, and all the waiting in between rolling the dough seemed like it would be a little annoying. To cut down on time, I made the initial butter disc with chilled butter instead of soft butter and placed the dough in the freezer for 15 minutes in between rolling, so it took less time to make than the recipe says but still turned out very flaky and wonderful. I made some crescent rolls by mixing soft cream cheese and a little vanilla and powdered sugar together and spreading it on the dough before rolling the pieces into crescents. they made a great morning treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe turned out great! I can't agree enough that there was too much butter though, no matter what I did when rolling the butter broke through and when it finally went in the oven, my sausage rolls (English pork wrapped in puff pastry) were swimming in butter! Could have reduced it by at least half a cup. Great recipe though, will be using it again! Only with 1 -1/2 (or 1/4) cups butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Fabulous result, with delicate puffy layers of pastry that complimented the recipe I was making perfectly!- even though it seemed daunting, after watching a you tube video for some tips (how to fold and turn, how to brush the flour off each layer with a pastry brush etc.) I did 5 or so fold and turns, my first few folds were all wrong, but it didn't seem to effect the end result which was light, flaky and delicious. I didn't change the quantities the first time and I was happy with the outcome, but I am making my second batch a week later and I have reduced the butter to 1.5 cups to see whether it works as well (for health reasons, not because I thought the full amount was too dense or buttery!). I will let you know how the reduced butter turns out. For Australia day (living in the U.S.)I wanted to make sausage rolls (ground pork and spices rolled in puff pastry and sprinkled with sesame seeds). The puff pastry available at walmart was so small and expensive I thought I would give this recipe a go. SO glad I did, the pastry was far better than the store bought, it was light and flaky and buttery. My husband enjoyed them so much he has requested I make them on a regular basis. It made approx 25 sausage rolls, using 2lbs of ground pork with a little left over pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I did follow the directions to the T but I agree there might be too much butter in this. I had trouble with it breaking thru and when baking one batch, it did lose butter. Having never worked with puff pastry or made it that might be my problem but this is one time when the store bought was better. Normally, I check many recipes when unfamiliar but I had a stellar appetizer at an open house that I wanted to recreate. Mine will be ok but I was really hoping for stellar. Will try making the pastry again after more research.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I was intimidated to try this, and doubted my ability to pull it off, so I halved the recipe. I wanted to be sure I was understanding the rolling and turning process correctly, so I watched a video on You Tube. In that video, the lady added 6 tablespoons of butter to the dough itself, and therefore used less to make the disk with. She also suggested allowing the dough to rest overnight in the fridge. I followed that, but followed the rest of this recipe as written. My kitchen was warm, so I was only able to do one turn at a time, putting the dough back in the fridge for a half hour between each turn. In the video I also learned to use a pastry brush to brush off the excess flour as you are folding it. I am not sure of the importance of this step, but thought I would pass on the tip. To my utter amazement I had absolutely no problems with this recipe at all- the dough rolled beautifully, and the butter rolled right along with it, without breaking through. It is time consuming to be sure, but I did not find it difficult. I used half of it right away to make the Praline-Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias from this site. I put it in the oven, and waited with bated breath. My heart nearly skipped a beat when I saw that my pastry did in fact puff! Total, rockin' success! Buttery, flaky, delicate perfection! Thank you "your mom" for the recipe- I love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is amazing, I was able to freeze and use a little at a time, puffed up nice and beautiful. I made some with apple filling, choc. chips and cream cheese with raspberries, will keep making. Thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States