Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lynnyo
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
revision (2/22/10): one tip that i've discovered is to make the butter disc pretty thin (1/2") so that when you wrap it with the dough, it's easier to roll out. refridgerating helps a lot with the butter breaking through... i used a pie edge cutter to trim the edges, and it made the end result even prettier. Original (1/10/10): i've made this recipe twice now,and both times it has been very easy to follow with great results. there are a few reviewers who have said that it needs to be followed exactly -- well, i have to disagree, because i've been lucky to have it look amazing without having the success of rolling out the dough expertly. the butter kept breaking through the flour mixture, and i forgot to refridgerate it, but it's puffed up like a star! clearly beginner pastry chefs should start here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fantastic! Better than store-bought and definately worth the work! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great recipe, but you must follow it exactly to get the desired result. Because you have to refrigerate the dough between turns, the recipe takes time and you must allow for that. If you decide that the recipe is too time consuming, try a butter-based pie crust recipe. Avoid the vast majority of frozen and refrigerated puff pastry because they are usually made with cheap hydrogenated fats instead of butter, and this makes a HUGE difference in taste and texture, which is what puff pastry is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this recipe 2 weeks ago for use in a recipe that called for puff pastry. It came out AWESOME, seriously, INCREDIBLE! I totally looked like a gourmet pastry chef and everyone asked for the recipe! I had found my new "signature" recipe. Since then, I have attempted to make it again, and not once has it come out as well. I'm giving the recipe 5 stars because I know it is great when it works, and that it is "operator error" on my other attempts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Sensational! Hubby said it was the best meal I've ever cooked. I put some chicken with a cream cheese/tomato sauce in it with some spreadable cheese. Make no mistake though, it is WILDLY labor intensive and time consuming!! The sticker is he wants me to make it weekly. Whew, I'm bushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a great recipe for someone with no pastry making experience. It was so much easier than I thought it would be! I used the pastry to make cream cheese crowns, and they turned out beautifully. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I'm not a pastry guy but this was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Excellent puff pastry recipe. It tourned out brilliantly all who ate my sausage rolls were well impressed! Making them again today! Perhaps less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
A lot of work, but altogether simpler than I expected. I followed the suggestions of others and used the freeezer instead of the fridge for the cooling part of the process but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Maybe I screwed up some of my first "turns" because when it baked up it only puffed a little even though I had turned it about 8 times or so. I think I may have forgotten the "turning" part and just done a bunch of folding at first, or something silly like rolling the wrong direction in relation to the folds... Oh well! The presentation was professional looking and the texture and flavor were also spot-on for my expectations of deliciousness. An awesome recipe, my go-to for anything involving puff pastry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Was really easy to made and the result was great, I filled some "pockets" with ragú (bolognese sauce) and Bechamel sauce and were amazing, next time I'll try it with salmon and bechamel. Can't belive how puffy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aradi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States