Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
Requires paying attention to the pan. A crispy "tostón" is a delicacy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Also known as Platanos Fritos o Patacones. I make these all the time but i do not soak them in water. I just peel the plantain, slice it crosswise about 1 inch thick, fry just a little (they'll look yellow-er), press in the tostonera (or with the bottom of a can) , fry again until cripsy and golden and then sprinkle with garlic salt. Yum!! Ignore the rating of the person who burnt them, that is not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
just like i had them in costa rica--very, very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This is a variant of a West African dish in which plantains are cut into 1/4 inch thick slices and fried. I find that using peanut oil gives a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
I have made these all my life and I love them. A nice twist (and probably my favorite) is to make them with a ripe plantain (in which case they're called "amarillos". For making amarillos, the plantain must be at least yellow or almost throwing to "too ripe"--close to blackening skin). Cut the ripe plantain into diagonal, long slices and fry them--keep an eye on them because they cook much, much faster--turn around and they'll be burnt!--and drain on paper towels. You can serve these with anything and are great solo. Because they're made with a ripe plantain, they're very sweet. My fiance doesn't really care for amarillos, but I wouldn't have my plantains any other way. I would give both of these a 3 kid rating because, depending on the kid, he or she will love the tostones/amarillos or just hate them. I grew up with them, so I simply adore them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
280 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
OH MY GOD! THESE ARE EXACTLY LIKE THEY ARE IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC. I LOVED THESE WHEN I LIVED THERE. IN THE DOMINICAN, THEY ARE MORE COMMONLY CALLED "PLATINO FRITOS"...MAKES SENSE, BUT I COULDNT FIND INSTRUCTIONS TO MAKE THESE, BECAUSE I DIDN'T KNOW, UNTIL RECENTLY THAT THESE ARE ACTUALLY CALLED TOSTONES. WHATEVER THE NAME....THEY ARE SOOOOO GOOD. THESE ARE GREAT FOR DINNER. I MAKE ONE TOSTONE PER PERSON, ACCOMPONIED BY FRIED SALOMI, WHICH IS ANOTHER DOMINICAN FAVORITE. CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT "CHINOLA" IS IN ENGLISH....POR QUE, SOY AMERICANA. LOL. I LOVE THIS JUGO (JUICE) IN THE DOMINICAN, BUT I CAN'T FIND THE "CHINOLA" FRUIT HERE. THANKS EVER SO MUCH FOR THESE INSTRUCTIONS. I AM IN HEAVEN NOW THAT I CAN HAVE MY PLATINO FRITOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Yummy, Yummy! I soaked my plantains for 15 minutes in salted water, patted them dry and then fried them. I flattened them between wax paper with the bottom of a glass. Dip them in the water again, patted them dry and then fried to a deep brown. Salted them immediately after taking from the oil and served them with a traditional half mayo, half ketchup dipping sauce. They are SO good and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Tostones taste great any time. Ask for Plantains at the supermarket in my experience they are qualitatively different than bananas, dont exactly taste great raw. they are longer, firmer, like a cousin of the banana, cooked while green for a firm crunchy taste, or when yellow with brown spots for a sweet taste. Make a tomato and garlic sauce for dipping, sprinkle with salt.. delicious! In some hardware stores you can find a tostonera, look in latino catalogs for it, it saves lots of time. its two boards with a circular indentation in the middle, made to squish the plantain in a perfect circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I love fried plantains. I didn't dip them in water like suggested, I didn't like the sounds of putting water in a frying pan. They still turned out excellent, and went well with a mix of ketchup/mayo that someone else had suggested. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
As a Puerto Rican, I know and love platanos as well. They're an easy side dish and can take the place of other sides, like rice or potatos. I don't bother with the water, just fry, smash, and re-fry. Just make sure you use the green plantains for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States