Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Just a few observations: 1. If you want to have a toston that is made like those in Puerto Rico you have to have green plantains (oh, and a plantain is not a banana. They are related, but are not the same. A plantain is much larger and thicker than a banana, even the plants are different). 2. The slices should be cut diagonally so the initial frying can cover the most area. 3. If you don't have a tostonera, a can or a plate can be used to squash the slice, 4. Once it is squashed it is put in salted water for at least 30 minutes, not just to prevent it from going brown, but to give the toston a very good salty taste. 5. Last you fry it until golden brown. 6. Some people make mayoketchup mix (mayonnaise mixed with ketchup) or olive oil with salt, lemon, and garlic or just sprinkle with garlic salt. Hope this has clarified some issues with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Yummy! They brought me back to Euador where my husband and I first met. I omitted the water steps as that just sounded dangerous to me. I used plantains that were yellow with black spots to get a sweeter taste and cut them about 1 1/2 inches thick. I also followed LatinaCook's suggestion of initially frying them for a shorter period of time--about 2 minutes per side. Then I drained them on paper towels before flattening them (I think it helped to cut down on some of the grease). Then I fried them again as the recipe called, drained and salted...my daughter loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kTd86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
It is better to put these in salted water before you fry them and only after they are dried. Also, the plantain "smoosh" better if they are cut at an angle, but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
EXCELLENT, COMO MI ABUELITA LO ACE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was the first time my family had tried these. I liked them but my sons did not. I think I should have chosen a plantain that was a little more ripe. They had a sour taste to them. I dunked them in ketsup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good, but not the quickest thing to make. The drinking glass worked just fine to smoosh them. I served them with Arroz con pollo and a salad, and Hubby gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Just returned from Puerto Rico where we stayed in the mountains and my children discovered their love for tostones--these are exactly right! For people looking for the sweet plantains they have eaten in restaurants, sometimes called "maduros," make sure that you note that this recipe traditionally calls for green plantains and is not supposed to be sweet. If you want to make the sweet kind use yellow-brown overripe plantains. I made that mistake when I first moved to Miami!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
these are great with chimichurri sauce! it's made from parsley, cilantro, garlic, lemon, and oil. look up the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter, and it's fantastic. I tried a green plantain this time-- very subtly sweet, and, as another reviewer mentioned, great with garlic salt. I'm allowing another plantain to ripen, so I'll try the recipe that way as well. To mash the pieces, I put them one-by-one in between pieces of baking parchment, then put that in a wide, flat bowl, stacked another bowl inside of it, and pushed down a bit. I also liked the fact that this recipe didn't require a whole lot of oil, though I used an 8-inch stainless steel pan so the pieces would sit a little deeper in the oil. The finished product goes great with black beans and rice; I will definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These are awesome! I didn't use any water and my plantains were green. The trick is to hit them with salt the second they come out of the oil! I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States