Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Tostones are an awesome side dish. However I first fry them then I remove from pan. Then I smash them. And tip them in a bowl of water with adobo then re fry them. It just adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Super easy!! Took maybe 5 minutes to make! Next time I'm going to cut them diagonally so that you don't end up flipping and watching so many little circles. I also put garlic salt on half and truvia on the other half to make it sweet and it was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angie c-moore
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I added garlic to my water and let the tostones soak for about a minute just to give a bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
One of my familys fave! I do not think there's any of my kids that dont like tostones... My husband loves them too. My variation to the recipe is that after i peel and slice the plantain i put in water with adobo before frying , these gives them more flavor. after frying i use a tostonera to mash the toston a bit and then return to fry pan to crisp. Then just make a mix of fresh crush garlic with a bit of olive oil which i heat. We love it alone, with fried pork or chicken or just as a side with rice, beans and chicken. And by the way a plantain is not a banana, it is much larger and firm than a banana. The peel is very different too. When plantains become ripe you can slice and fry to make what is called Maduro . This is a sweet version though and you just fry once you do not refry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Great side dish. Followed LatinaCook's directions and they turn out fantastic every time. The bottom of a small can (like 4oz, etc..) seems to be a good size to flatten a 1 inch thick slice of Plantain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My first time trying Plantain - Used a very ripe Plantain (almost completely black) - fried in coconut oil - flattened only half the batch to fry again and the others remained as sliced - the flattened plantain was firmer with a dryer centre - both methods tasted very sweet - will definately make again as it satisfied my sweet tooth to easily skip dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Tostones in English would be "Twice Fried Platains" (since you are frying them twice) "Fried Platains" are Amarillos/Platano Frito. I never used to soak the platains before, now I do. I soak them for about 2-3 hrs in salt water. I drain the water and pat dry w/ a paper towel. They come out crispier and tastier! :) If short on time, I do not soak them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Easy to make and a nice side dish to go with savory entrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Amazing recipe!!! make sure the plantain is very green. I love to dip mine in spicy humus yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
awesome recipe, easy to follow, gave it four stars because i skipped the water step, freaked me out and don't really wanna deal with a house fire. the only thing is they did not come out crispy but that may be just my fault because i mistakenly turned down the heat on the wrong burner. will try again but besides that very nice recipe, pretty proud of myself, haven't made tostones from scratch in awhile. oh, and one more thing, i also put about a tbsp of salt and a tbsp of sugar in a cup mixed together and sprinkled them on top of the tostones as soon as i got them out the frying pan the second time, delish!! the sugar makes it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States